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          FLORIDA BOARD OF MEDICINE  
            LIMITED LICENSE APPLICATION 

Apply for your license online at www.flboardofmedicine.gov 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
For a detailed list of licensure requirements please visit www.flboardofmedicine.gov 

 
Mailing Information: 
 
Submit your application, fees and any supplemental documentation you are sending with your application to 
the following address: 

Department of Health 
P.O. Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 

 

 
Mail additional documentation, not included with your application, to the following address: 

Florida Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399-3253 

 
All documents must have your name as listed on your application to ensure materials reach your 
application in a timely manner. 

 
Fees: 
 
If applicable, make one cashier's check or money order for the total amount payable to the Department of 
Health-Board of Medicine. 

 
An applicant who is denied licensure, or withdraws the application prior to licensure, is entitled to a refund of 
the initial licensure fee, NICA fee, and dispensing fee. A request to withdraw and receive a refund must be 
made in writing. 

 
All fees are waived for non-compensated practice: 
To receive the waiver of fees, the facility in which you intend to work must send a letter, addressed to the Florida 
Board of Medicine, stating you will not be receiving any compensation for your practice. 

 
Fees for compensated practice: 
 
Application fee: $300.00  (non-refundable) 
Initial license fee: $429.00 
NICA Fee: $250.00 or $5,000.00 (please read information at www.nica.com)  

  Dispensing Practitioner fee:               $100.00 (If selling pharmaceuticals in your office) 
 

Section 465.0276, F.S., requires that licensees of the Board of Medicine who dispense medicinal 
drugs pay a fee of $100.00 when they register to dispense or when they renew their practitioner’s 
license. Physicians who dispense only complimentary packages of medicinal drugs are not required to 
register. 
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QUALIFICATIONS     FOR     LICENSURE 
 

 
 
 
 
Chapter 458.317, Florida Statutes: 

 
 Has been licensed to practice medicine in any jurisdiction in the United States for at least 10 years and 

intends to practice only pursuant to the restrictions of a limited license granted pursuant to this section. 
 

 If it has been more than 3 years since active practice was conducted by the applicant, the full-
time director of the county health department or a licensed physician, approved by the Board, 
shall supervise the applicant for a period of time to be determined by the Board. 

 
Submit the following supporting documentation: 

 
 Applicable fees 
 Letter of intent to employ 
 National Practitioners Data Bank report 
 Statement for all “Yes” answers and supporting documentation (if applicable) 

 
Request the following to be sent directly to the Florida Board of Medicine: 

 
 State license verification 

 
Important Contact information: 
 
National Practitioner Data Bank Self-Query: Applicants are required to complete a self-query to the National 
Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and upon receipt of the response to the query, provide the Board office with a 
copy. A fee is charged to furnish this information. 

 
NPDB 
P.O. Box 10832 
Chantilly, VA 22021 
(800) 767-6732 
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/ 
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Electronic  Fingerprinting 
 

Take this form with you to the Livescan service provider. Please check the service provider’s requirements to see if you 
need to bring any additional items. 

 
 Background screening results are obtained from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation by submitting to a fingerprint scan using the Livescan method; 
 

 You can find a Livescan service provider at: http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/ background- 
screening/livescan-service-providers.html; 

 
 Failure to submit background screening will delay your application; 

 
 Applicants may use any Livescan service provider approved by the Florida Department of Law 

Enforcement to submit their background screening to the department; 
 

 If you do not provide the correct Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number to the Livescan service provider 
the Board office will not receive your background screening results; 

 

 The ORI number for the Board of Medicine is EDOH2014Z; 
 

 You must provide accurate demographic information to the Livescan service provider at the time your 
fingerprints are taken, including your Social Security number (SSN); 

 
 Typically background screening results submitted through a Livescan service provider are received by the 

Board within 24-72 hours of being processed; 
 

 If you obtain your Livescan from a service provider who does not capture your photo you may be required to be 
reprinted by another agency in the future. 

 
 

NAME: SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:    
 

ALIASES:    
 

DATE OF BIRTH:    PLACE OF BIRTH:    
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

 
CITIZENSHIP: RACE:    

(White; Latino; Black; Asian; Native American; Unknown) 

SEX: WEIGHT: HEIGHT:    

EYE COLOR: HAIR COLOR   
 

ADDRESS:    
 

CITY: _STATE: ZIP:   
 
 

Transaction Control Number (TCN#):   
(This will be provided to you by the Livescan service provider.) 

 
 
 

KEEP THIS FORM FOR YOUR RECORDS 
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FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 

 
NOTICE FOR APPLICANTS SUBMITTING FINGERPRINTS WHERE CRIMINAL RECORD RESULTS WILL 

BECOME PART OF THE CARE PROVIDER BACKGROUND SCREENING CLEARINGHOUSE 
 

NOTICE OF: 
 SHARING OF CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION WITH SPECIFIED AGENCIES, 
 RETENTION OF FINGERPRINTS, 
 PRIVACY POLICY, AND 
 RIGHT TO CHALLENGE AN INCORRECT CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

 
This notice is to inform you that when you submit a set of fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement 
(FDLE) for the purpose of conducting a search for any Florida and national criminal history records that may 
pertain to you, the results of that search will be returned to the Care Provider Background Screening 
Clearinghouse. By submitting fingerprints, you are authorizing the dissemination of any state and national criminal 
history record that may pertain to you to the Specified Agency or Agencies from which you are seeking approval 
to be employed, licensed, work under contract, or to serve as a volunteer, pursuant to the National Child 
Protection Act of 1993, as amended, and Section 943.0542, Florida Statutes. "Specified agency" means the 
Department of Health, the Department of Children and Family Services, the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation 
within the Department of Education, the Agency for Health Care Administration, the Department of Elder Affairs, 
the Department  of Juvenile  Justice,  and  the  Agency  for  Persons  with  Disabilities  when  these  agencies  are 
conducting state and national criminal history background screening on persons who provide care for children or 
persons who are elderly or disabled. The fingerprints submitted will be retained by FDLE and the Clearinghouse 
will be notified if FDLE receives Florida arrest information on you. 

 
Your Social Security Number (SSN) is needed to keep records accurate because other people may have the 
same name and birth date. Disclosure of your SSN is imperative for the performance of the Clearinghouse 
agencies’ duties in distinguishing your identity from that of other persons whose identification information may 
be the same as or similar to yours. 

 
Licensing and employing  agencies are allowed  to release a  copy of the  state and  national  criminal record 
information to a person who requests a copy of his or her own record if the identification of the record was 
based on submission of the person’s fingerprints. Therefore, if you wish to review your record, you may request 
that the agency that is screening the record provide you with a copy. After you have reviewed the criminal 
history record, if you believe it is incomplete or inaccurate, you may conduct a personal review as provided in s. 
943.056, F.S., and Rule 11C-8.001, F.A.C. If national information is believed to be in error, the FBI should be 
contacted at 304-625-2000. You can receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to you directly 
from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34. You have the right to obtain a prompt determination as 
to the validity of your challenge before a final decision is made about your status as an employee, volunteer, 
contractor, or subcontractor. 

 
Until the criminal history background check is completed, you may be denied unsupervised access to children, 
the elderly, or persons with disabilities. 

 

 
 
 
 

The FBI’s Privacy Statement follows on a separate page and contains additional information. 
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US Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Criminal Justice Information 
Services Division 

 
Privacy Statement 

 
Authority: The FBI’s acquisition, preservation and exchange of information requested by this form is generally 
authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include 
numerous Federal statutes, hundreds of State statutes pursuant to Pub.L.92-544, Presidential executive orders, 
regulations and/or orders of the Attorney General of the United States, or other authorized authorities. Examples 
include, but are not limited to: 5 U.S.C. 9101; Pub.L.94-29; Pub.L.101-604; and Executive Orders 10450 and 12968. 
Providing the requested information is voluntary; however, failure to furnish the information may affect timely completion 
of approval of your application. 

 
Social Security Account Number (SSAN): Your SSAN is needed to keep records accurate because other people may 
have the same name and birth date. Pursuant to the Federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 USC 552a), the requesting agency 
is responsible for informing you whether disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by what statutory or other authority your 
SSAN is solicited, and what uses will be made of it. Executive Order 9397 also asks Federal Agencies to use this 
number to help identify individuals in agency records. 

 
Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, security, licensing and adoption, may be predicated  
on fingerprint based checks. Your fingerprints and other information contained on (and along with) this form may be 
submitted to the requesting agency, the agency conducting the application investigation, and/or FBI for the purpose  of 
comparing the submitted information to available records in order to identify other information that may be pertinent to 
the application.  During the processing of this application, and for as long hereafter as may be relevant to the activity for 
which this application is being submitted, the FBI may disclose any potentially pertinent information to the requesting 
agency and/or to the agency conducting the investigation.  The FBI may also retain the submitted information in the  
FBI’s permanent collection of fingerprints and related information, where it will be subject to comparisons against other 
submissions received by the FBI. Depending on the nature of your application, the requesting agency and/or the agency 
conducting the application investigation may also retain the fingerprints and other submitted information for other 
authorized purposes of such agency(ies). 

 
Routine Uses: The fingerprints and information reported on this form may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and 
may also be disclosed by the FBI without your consent as permitted by the Federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 USC 552a(b)) 
and all applicable routine uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the routine uses for 
the FBI Fingerprint Identification Records System (Justice, FBI-009) and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses (Justice/FBI- 
BRU).  Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: appropriate governmental authorities responsible for 
civil or criminal law enforcement counterintelligence, national security or public safety matters to which the information 
may be relevant; to State and local governmental agencies and nongovernmental entities for application processing as 
authorized by Federal and State legislation, executive order, or regulation, including employment, security, licensing, 
and adoption checks; and as otherwise authorized by law, treaty, executive order, regulation, or other lawful authority. If 
other agencies are involved in processing the application, they may have additional routine uses. 

 
Additional Information: The requesting agency and/or the agency conducting the application investigation will provide 
you additional information pertinent to the specific circumstances of this application, which may include identification of 
other authorities, purposes, uses, and consequences of not providing requested information. In addition, any such 
agency in the Federal Executive Branch has also published notice. 
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MEDICAL DOCTOR 
APPLICATION FOR LIMITED LICENSURE 

Apply for your license online at http://flboardofmedicine.gov/licensing 
 

CHOOSE YOUR APPLICATION METHOD: (check only one) 
( ) I am not fully retired in all jurisdictions and will use this Limited License for non-compensated practice. 

(Application fee waived) 
( ) I am fully retired in all jurisdictions and will use this Limited License for compensated practice. 

Application fee $300.00: Initial license fee: $429.00 - Total fee $729.00 plus NICA if applicable. 
NICA Fee Exempt ( ) Non-Participating $250.00( ) Participating $5000.00( ) 

( ) I am fully retired in all jurisdictions and will use this Limited License for Non-compensated practice. 
(Application fee waived) 

 
  (    ) I plan to dispense medicinal drugs in the State of Florida for a fee or other remuneration and hereby register as required by 

Section 465.0276, F.S. I understand that the fee for the Dispensing Practitioner is $100.00 in addition to the required initial 

license fee and will submit it along with the license fee. 
 

Anticipated Employment Start Date: Facility Director’s Name:    
 

Name of Approved Facility: Facility Telephone Number:    
 

Facility Address:    
Street City State Zip 

 
1. PERSONAL INFORMATION: 

 
Name: Date of Birth   

Last/Surname First Middle MM/DD/YYYY 
 

Mailing Address: The address where mail and your license should be sent. 
 
 

Street/PO Box Suite/Apt. No City 
 

 

State                   Zip                                      Country                                                           Phone Number 
 

Physical Location: A Post Office Box is not acceptable. This address will be posted on the Department of Health’s website. If you 
do not have a current practice address, your mailing address will be used. When you obtain a practice address, you will be required to 
update your online practitioner profile. 

 
 

Street Suite/Apt. No City 
 

 

State Zip Country Alternate Phone Number 

 
Email Address:    
Under Florida Law, email addresses are public records.  If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records 
request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office.  Instead contact the office by phone or in writing. 

 
Equal Opportunity Data: We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with 
Section 2, Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 CFR 38296 (August 25, 1978). This information is  
gathered for statistical and reporting purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 

 
SEX: (  ) Male (  ) Female  RACE: (  ) White (  ) Black (  ) Asian/Pacific Islander (  ) Hispanic (  ) Other 

 
Availability for Disaster: Will you be available to provide health care services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster 
medical assistant teams during time of emergency or major disaster? (   ) Yes  (   ) No 
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MEDICAL EDUCATION HISTORY: 
List in chronological order all medical schools attended, whether completed or not. 

 
 
Medical School Name and Address From: 

(MM/YYYY) 
To: 
(MM/YYYY) 

Date Degree 
Received: 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

    

    

    

    

    
 

2. POSTGRADUATE TRAINING HISTORY: 
In the table below list, in chronological order, all postgraduate training from the date you graduated from medical school to the present. 
Start with your first program and end with your last or current program.  List all programs you began, whether you completed or 
received credit for the training. 

 
 
Program Name and Address 

 
Specialty Area From: 

(MM/YYYY) 
To: 
(MM/YYYY) 

Did You 
Receive Credit? 
(Yes/No) 

     

     

     

     
 

 
LOAN HISTORY: 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No  Are you currently in default on any health education loan or scholarship obligation? (If “Yes”, explain on a separate 

sheet providing accurate details and submit supporting documentation.) 
 

 
 

3. LICENSURE HISTORY: 
Request verification of licensure status directly from the licensing entity or https://www.veridoc.org/index.aspx . 

 

( ) Yes   (   ) No Do you now hold or have you ever held a license to practice medicine or any other profession in the United States 
or territory? List in the table below.  Submit on a separate sheet if needed. 

 
United States or Territory Profession License Number 
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If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you are required to send an explanation and supporting 
documentation. 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No Have you had any application for a medical license or professional license denied by any state board or other 

governmental agency of any state, territory, or country? 
 

( ) Yes   (   ) No  Are you currently under investigation in any jurisdiction for an act or offense what would constitute a violation of 
Section 458.331, Florida Statutes? 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No Have you ever had any professional license or license to practice medicine revoked, suspended, placed on 

probation, or other disciplinary action taken in any state, territory or country? 
 

4. PRACTICE/EMPLOYMENT HISTORY: 
 

List the year you legally first began to practice medicine, (YYYY).  This would be the year you began practicing medicine and 
could be the date you began your postgraduate training. 

 
( ) Yes   (   ) No   Has it been more than 3 years since you actively practiced medicine? 

 
“If it has been more than 3 years since active practice was conducted by the applicant, the full-time director of the county health 
department or a licensed physician, approved by the board, shall supervise the applicant for a period of 6 months after he or she is 
granted a limited license for practice, unless the board determines that a shorter period of supervision will be sufficient to 
ensure that the applicant is qualified for licensure. Procedures for such supervision shall be established by the board” (458.317(1)(b), 
Florida Statutes). 

If you answered “Yes” above, when your application is complete you will be scheduled to appear before the Credentials Committee of 
the Medical Board to establish the period of time that you will be supervised. 

 
List in chronological order all employment (practice of medicine) for the last three (3) years: 

 

Name and Address of 
Medical Practice 

Type of Practice From: 
MM/YYYY

To: 
MM/YYYY

    

    

    

 

( ) Yes   ( ) No   Do you currently hold staff privileges in any hospital, health institution, clinic or medical facility? 
List each facility below. 

 
Name and Address of Facility

 

 

 

 

If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you are required to send an explanation and supporting 
documentation. 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No  Have you ever had any staff privileges denied, suspended, revoked, modified, restricted, not renewed, or placed  

on probation, or have you ever been asked to resign or take a temporary leave of absence or were otherwise acted 
against by any facility? 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No Have you ever had any staff privileges restricted or not renewed by any facility instead of disciplinary action? 
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( ) Yes   ( ) No Do you currently, or have you had, responsibility for graduate medical education within the last 10 years? 

 
Name of Institution 

 

 

 

 
 

 

( ) Yes   (   ) No Are you certified by any specialty board recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties or specialty 
board approved by the Florida Board of Medicine? 

 
 

Specialty Board Certification Name Date of Certification (MM/YYYY) 
  

  

  
 

 

If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you are required to send an explanation and supporting 
documentation. 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No  Have you ever had any final disciplinary action taken against you by a specialty board of other similar national 

organization? 
 

( ) Yes   ( ) No Have you ever been denied or surrendered a DEA registration? 
 

5. CRIMINAL HISTORY: 
 

If you answer “Yes” to the following question you are required to send the following items: 
 Self-explanation describing in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense, including dates, city and state, charges and 

final results. 
 Final Dispositions and Arrest Records for all offenses.  The Clerk of the Court in the arresting jurisdiction will provide you with 

these documents. Unavailability of these documents must come in the form of a letter from the Clerk of the Court. 
 Completion of Sentence Documents.  You may obtain documentation from the Department of Corrections. The report must 

include the start date, end date and that the conditions were met. 
 

( ) Yes   ( ) No  Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to, a crime in any 
jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense?  You must include all misdemeanor and felonies, even if adjudication 
was withheld.  Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses for 
purposes of this question. 

 
 

( ) Yes   ( ) No  I have been provided and read the statement from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement regarding the 
sharing, retention, privacy and right to challenge incorrect criminal history records and the “Privacy Statement” 
document from the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

 
6. MILITARY HISTORY: 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No Have you ever been in the United States Military and/or Public Health Service? 

 
( ) Yes   ( ) No  Have you ever been disciplined by any branch of the United States Armed Services or Public Health Service?  If 

you answered  “Yes” provide a detailed explanation and supporting documentation. 
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7. CRIMINAL AND MEDICAID/MEDICARE FRAUD QUESTIONS: 
 

Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be exclude form licensure, certification or 
registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established in Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes.  If you answer 
“Yes” to any of the following questions, provide a detailed explanation and supporting documentation. 

 
1. ( ) Yes   ( ) No Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, 

a felony under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. 
(relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a 
similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction? 

 
If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 2. 

 
a. ( )Yes ( )No   If “Yes”  to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the 

date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 
 

b. (   )Yes  (  )No If “Yes” to 1, for felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of the plea, 
sentence and completion of any subsequent probation?  (This question does not apply to felonies of 
the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes.) 

 
c. (   )Yes   (   )No  If “Yes” to 1, for felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it 

been more than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent 
probation? 

 
d. (   )Yes  (  )No  If “Yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for 

the felony offense being withdrawn or charges dismissed? 
 

2. ( ) Yes   (   ) No   Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of 
adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395- 

1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)? 
 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 3. 
 

a. ( )Yes ( )No   If “Yes”  to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence 
and completion of any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? 

 
3. ( ) Yes   (   ) No  Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to 

Section 409.913, Florida Statutes? 
 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 4. 
 

a. ( )Yes  ( )No If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida 
Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 

 
4. (   ) Yes   (   ) No Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the 

state, from any other state Medicaid Program? 
 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 5. 
 

a. ( )Yes ( )No   Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years? 
 

b. (   )Yes  (  )No Did the termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application? 
 
 

5. (   ) Yes   (   ) No  Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of 
Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities? 
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE* 
 
 
 

8. HEALTH HISTORY: 
 

If you answer “Yes” to any of the following questions you are required to send the following items: 
 A self-explanation providing accurate details that include name of all physicians, therapists, counselors, hospitals, institutions, 

and/or clinics where you received treatment and dates of treatment. 
 A report directed to the Florida Board of Medicine from each treatment provider about your treatment, medications, and dates 

of treatment.  If applicable, include all DSM III R/DSM IV/DSM IV-TR Axis I and II diagnosis(es) codes(s), and admission and 
discharge summery(s). 

 
 
 

(   ) Yes   (  ) No   In the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter into, or participated in any drug 
or alcohol recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or alcohol abuse that 
occurred within the past five years? 

 
(   ) Yes   (  ) No   In the last five years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired practitioner 

program for treatment of a diagnosed mental disorder or impairment? 
 

(   ) Yes   (  ) No   During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed mental disorder that 
has impaired your ability to practice medicine within the past five years? 

 
(   ) Yes   (  ) No  During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical disorder that 

has impaired your ability to practice medicine within the past five years? 
 

(   ) Yes   (  ) No  In the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed 
substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder or, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer 
a relapse within the last five years? 

 
(   ) Yes   (  ) No  During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed 

substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder that has impaired your ability to practice medicine within the 
past five years? 

 
 
 

Name:    
Last/Surname First Middle 

 

 
 
 
 

Social Security Number:    
 
 
 

U.S. Social Security Information - * Under the Federal Privacy Act, disclosure of U.S. Social Security numbers is voluntary unless 
specifically required by federal statute. In this instance, Social Security numbers are mandatory pursuant to Title 42 United States Code, 
Sections 653 and 654; and Section 456.013(1), 409.2577 and 409.2598, Florida Statutes. Social Security numbers are used to allow 
efficient screening of applicants and licensees by a Title IV-D child support agency to ensure compliance with child support obligations. 
Social Security numbers must also be recorded on all professional and occupational license applications and will be used for license 
identification pursuant to the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Welfare Reform Act. 104 Pub.L. 
Section 317) Clarification of the SSA process may be reviewed at www.ssa.gov or by calling 1-800-772- 1213. 
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9. MALPRACTICE HISTORY: 
 

If you answer “Yes” to the following questions you are required to send the following items: 
 A statement indicating the date of each incident and the number of each case. 
 An explanation of details for each case and your involvement for each case. 
 Submit the enclosed Exhibit 1 form. 
 A copy of the complaint, judgments and/or settlements for each case. 
 Submit a complete copy of the trial record(s) of each case, including the trial transcripts, evidentiary exhibits and final 

judgment in electronic format. 
 

(   ) Yes  (  ) No  Have you ever had a judgment entered against you for medical malpractice where the incident(s) of malpractice 
occurred after November 2, 2004? 

 
(   ) Yes   (   ) No Within the last 10 years have you had any liability claim(s) or action(s) for damages for personal injury settled or 

finally adjudicated in an amount that exceeds $100,000.00? 
 

10. FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY: 
 

The Financial Responsibility options are divided into two categories, coverage and exemptions. Check only one option of the ten 
provided as required by s. 458.320, Florida Statutes. 

 
Category I: Financial Responsibility Coverage 
1. (  )  I do not have hospital staff privileges, I do not perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center and I have established an 

irrevocable letter of credit or an escrow account in an amount of $100,000/$300,000, in accord with Chapter 675, F.S., for a 
letter of credit and s. 625.52, F.S., for an escrow account. 

2. (  )  I have hospital staff p rivileg es or I perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center and I have established an irrevocable letter of 
credit or escrow account in an amount of $250,000/$750,000, in accord with Chapter 675, F.S., for a letter of credit and s. 625.52, 
F.S., for an escrow account. 

3. (  )  I do not have hospital staff privileges, I do not perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center and I have obtained and maintain 
professional liability coverage in an amount not less than $100,000 per claim, with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than 
$300,000 from an authorized insurer as defined under s. 624.09, F.S., from a surplus lines insurer as defined under s. 626.914(2), 
F.S., from a risk retention group as defined under s. 627.942, F.S., from the Joint Underwriting Association established under s. 
627.351(4), F.S., or through a plan of self-insurance as provided in s. 627.357, F.S. 

4. (   ) I have hospital staff privileges or I perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center and I have professional liability coverage in an 
amount not less than $250,000 per claim, with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than $750,000 from an authorized insurer 
as defined under s. 624.09, F.S., from a surplus lines insurer as defined under s. 626.914(2), F.S., from a risk retention group 
as  defined under s. 627.942, F.S., from the Joint Underwriting Association established under s. 627.351(4), F.S., or through a 
plan of self- insurance as provided in s. 627.357, F.S. 

5 .   (  ) I have elected not to carry medical malpractice insurance however, I agree to satisfy any adverse judgments up to the minimum 
amounts pursuant to s. 458.320(5)(g)1, F.S. I understand that I must either post notice in a sign prominently displayed in my 
reception area or provide a written statement to any person to whom medical services are being provided that I have decided not 
to carry medical malpractice insurance. I understand that such a sign or notice must contain the wording specified in 
s. 458.320(5)(g), F.S. 

 
Category II: Financial Responsibility Exemptions 
6. (  )  I practice medicine exclusively as an officer, employee, or agent of the federal government, the state, or its agencies or 

subdivisions. 
7. (  )  I hold a limited license issued pursuant to s. 458.317, F.S., and practice only under the scope of the limited license. 
8. (  ) I do not practice medicine in the State of Florida. 
9. (  ) I meet all of the following criteria: 

 I have held an active license to practice in this state or another state or some combination thereof for more than 15 years; 
 I am retired or maintain part time practice of no more than 1000 patient contact hours per year; 
 I have had no more than two claims resulting in an indemnity exceeding $25,000 within the previous five- year period; 
 I have not been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal violation specified in Chapter 458, F.S. or the 

medical practice act in any other state; and 
 I have not been subject, within the past ten years of practice, to license revocation, suspension, or probation for a period of three 

years or longer, or a fine of $500 or more for a violation of Chapter 458, F.S., or the medical practice act of another jurisdiction. 
A regulatory agency's acceptance of a relinquishment of license, stipulation, consent order, or other settlement offered in 
response to or in anticipation of filing of administrative charges against a license is construed as action against a license. I 
understand if I am claiming an exception under this section that I must either post notice in a sign prominently displayed in my 
reception area or provide a written statement to any person to whom medical services are being provided that I have decided not   
to carry medical malpractice insurance. See Section 458.320(5)(f), Florida Statutes, for specific notice requirements. 

10. (   )   I practice only in conjunction with my teaching duties at an accredited medical school or its teaching hospitals. (Interns and residents 
do not qualify for this exemption.) 

If you select an exemption based on number 9, you must also complete the affidavit on the following page. 
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FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FORM 
 
 

This affidavit is only required if you are claiming an exemption based on number 9 on the preceding page. 
 
 

I , do hereby certify and attest that I meet all of the following criteria: 
 
 

 I have held an active license to practice in this state or another state or some combination thereof for more 
than15 years; 

 I am retired or maintain part time practice of no more than 1000 patient contact hours per year; 
 I have had no more than two claims resulting in an indemnity exceeding $25,000 within the previous five- 

year period; 
 I have not been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal violation specified in Chapter 458, 

F.S. or the medical practice act in any other state; and 
 I have not been subject, within the past ten years of practice, to license revocation, suspension, or probation 

for a period of three years or longer, or a fine of $500 or more for a violation of Chapter 458, F.S., or the 
medical practice act of another jurisdiction. A regulatory agency's acceptance of a relinquishment of license, 
stipulation, consent order, or other settlement offered in response to or in anticipation of filing of administrative 
charges against a license is construed as action against a license. I understand if I am claiming an exception 
under this section that I must either post notice in a sign prominently displayed in my reception area or provide 
a written statement to any person to whom medical services are being provided that I have decided not to 
carry medical malpractice insurance. See Section 458.320(5)(f), F.S., for specific notice requirements. 

 
 

Dated:    Signature   
 
 
 

STATE OF    
 

COUNTY OF    
 

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me this day of , by 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Signature of Notary Public) 
 

 
 

(Print, Type, or Stamp Commissioned Name of Notary Public) 
 

Personally Known or Produced Identification    
 

 

Type of Identification Produced   
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11. FLORIDA BIRTH RELATED NEUROLOGICAL COMPENSATION ASSOICATION: 
 

You must choose one of the three options described below. Please be sure to view the information about each 
exemption at http://www.nica.com or call (850) 488-8191. Check only one. 

 

( ) $5000.00 Participating ( ) $250.00 Non-participating   ( ) $0.00 Exempt    
Amount Enclosed 

 
If you choose “Participating”, NICA provides eligible children with lifetime benefits for catastrophic claims resulting from 
certain birth-related neurological injuries. In order to participate, a physician must: 

 
1. Be licensed to practice medicine in Florida 
2. Practice obstetrics or perform obstetrical services on a full or part-time basis; and 
3. Have paid, or been exempted from paying, the required assessment when the incident occurred. 

 
If you choose “Non-participating”, a mandatory annual fee of $250 is paid by every physician in Florida who is not 
“Participating” or “Exempt”. 

 
If you choose “Exempt”, provide appropriate documentation to the Board of Medicine, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, #C03, 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3253, Email: MQA.Medicine@flhealth.gov or Fax: (850) 412-1268 and NICA, P.O. Box 14567, 
Tallahassee, Florida 32317-4567. Email: info@nica.com. 

 

Exemptions Include: 
1. Resident physicians, assistant resident physicians and interns in postgraduate training programs approved by the 

Board of Medicine; (documentation of the dates of your program signed by the chair of your department must be 
provided to NICA) 

2. Retired physicians who maintain an active license, but who have withdrawn from employment in any medically 
related field, as evidenced by an affidavit filed with NICA; (a copy of this affidavit must be provided to the 
Department of Health) 

3. Physicians who hold a limited license, as defined by Chapter 458, Florida Statutes, who do not receive any 
compensation for medical services; (an affidavit must be provided to NICA stating that no compensation is 
received for medical services 

4. Physicians employed full-time by the Veterans Administration whose practices are confined to Veterans 
Administration hospitals; (a letter from your employer stating you are a full-time employee as well as an affidavit 
from you stating you are not engaged in the private practice of medicine must be provided to NICA) 

5. Any licensed physician on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States; (a letter from your 
commanding officer stating that you are on active duty in the Armed Forces as well as an affidavit from you 
stating you are not engaged in the private practice of medicine must be provided to NICA) 

6. Physicians who are full-time State of Florida employees whose practice is confined to state owned correctional 
facilities, mental health or developmental services facilities, or the Department of Health or County Health 
Department. (A letter from state government documenting your employment status as well as an affidavit from 
you stating you are not engaged in outside employment must be provided to NICA). 

 
It is each physician's obligation to notify NICA of a subsequent change in status with regard to a claimed exemption. 

I have read the explanatory information provided by NICA at http://www.nica.com and I choose the option above. 

   Date   
Signature 

 
 

Print Name 
 
 

Address 
 
 

City, State, Zip 
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12. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT: 
 
 

I state that these statements are true and correct. I recognize that providing false information may result in 
denial of licensure, disciplinary action against my license, or criminal penalties pursuant to Sections 456.067, 775.083,  
and 775.084, Florida Statutes. I state that I have read Chapters 456, 458 and 766.301-.316, Florida Statutes and Chapter 
64B8, Florida Administrative Code. 

 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past 
and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the 
Florida Board of Medicine information which is material to my application for licensure. 

 
I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without 
reservations of any kind. I state that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. 

 
Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act constitutes cause for denial, 
suspension, or revocation of my license to practice medicine in the State of Florida. If there are any changes to my status 
or any change that would affect any of my answers to this application I must notify the board within 30 days. 

 
I understand that my records are protected under federal and state regulations governing Confidentiality of 
Mental Health Patient Records and cannot be disclosed without my written consent unless otherwise provided in the 
regulations. I understand that my records are protected under federal and state regulations governing Confidentiality of 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records, 42 CFR Part 2, and cannot be disclosed without my written consent unless 
otherwise provided in the regulations. I also understand that I may revoke this consent at any time except to the extent 
that action has been taken in reliance upon it. 

 
 
 
 
 

Print Name 
 
 
 
 
 

Signature Date 
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EXHIBIT 1–REPORT ON PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY CLAIMS AND ACTIONS 
 

Include information relating to liability actions occurring within the previous 10 years. The actions are required to be reported under 
section 456.039(1)(b) F. S. You must submit a completed form for each occurrence. If you are an allopathic, osteopathic, or podiatric 
physician, to satisfy this reporting requirement you may submit copies of reports previously submitted under the requirements of 
s. 456.049 F. S. instead of this exhibit. 

 
Date of Occurrence: Date Reported to Licensee: _Date Claim Reported to Insurer or Self-insurer:    

MM/DD/YYYY MM/DD/YYYY MM/DD/YYYY 
Injured Person’s Name_ Age Sex   

 

  _Date of suit, if filed   
Street Address, City, Sate, Zip MM/DD/YYYY 

 
List all defendants with their health care provider license number involved in this claim: 

 
1. 2.   

 

3. 4.   
 

Date of final claim disposition: Date and amount of judgment or settlement, if any:    
MM/DD/YYYY MM/DD/YYYY 

Was there an itemized verdict?  ( )  Yes ( ) No  (If “Yes”, attach copy of settlement verdict) 
Indemnity paid on behalf of this defendant:   $   
Loss of adjustment expense paid to defense counsel: $   
All other loss adjustment expense paid: $   

 

The date and reason for final disposition, if no judgment or settlement:    
 
 
 

Name and address of institution at which the injury occurred:    
 
 
 
(  ) Patient’s Room 

 
( ) Physical Therapy Dept. ( ) Radiology (  ) Labor & Delivery Room

(  ) Operating Suite (  ) Nursery ( ) Emergency Room ( ) Special Procedure Room
(  ) Recovery Room (  ) Critical Care Unit (  ) Other  

 

Final diagnosis for which treatment was sought or rendered:    
 

Describe misdiagnosis made, if any, of the patient’s actual condition:    
 
 
 

Describe the operation, diagnostic, or treatment procedure causing the injury.  Use nomenclature and/or descriptions of the procedures 
used. Include method of anesthesia, or name of drug used for treatment, with detail of administration:    

 
 
 

Describe the principal injury giving rise to the claim.  Use nomenclature and/or descriptions of the injury.  Include type of adverse effect 
from drugs where applicable:    

 
 
 

Safety management steps taken by the licensee to make similar occurrences less likely:    
 

 

I represent that these statements are true and correct pursuant to s. 837.06, F.S.  I recognize that providing any false statements 
made in writing with the intent to mislead the Department staff in the performance of their official duties, shall be punishable as 
provided in s. 775.082 and 775.083, F.S. 

 

 
Signature Print First, Middle, Last 


