Physician Assistants


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Renewal Requirements, Process, Fees and Continuing Medical Education (CME) for Physician Assistants.

The department will renew your license upon receipt of:

  1. Completed Renewal application
  2. Required fees
  3. Your current primary place of practice address

To ensure you receive notification from the department regarding the renewal, you must have on file with the department your current mailing address. Failure to renew an active or inactive license by the expiration date will result in the license being placed in delinquent status. Failure by a delinquent licensee to become active or inactive before the expiration of the current licensure cycle renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department.

A licensee who remains on inactive status for more than two consecutive biennial licensure cycles and who wishes to reactivate, must:

  1. Submit original inactive license
  2. Provide licensure verification from each state licensed in, or if only licensed in Florida submit a statement affirming the licensee is only licensed in Florida
  3. Provide a statement of medical activities from the date becoming  inactive to the present or if have not practiced at least 2 of the 4 years preceding application for reactivation, the licensee must:a. Successfully complete the 16 credit hour Graduate Clerkship offered by Nova Southeastern University (Physician Assistant department) or an equivalent program approved by the Council andb. Practice under the direct supervision of a supervising physician approved by the Council for 1 yearc. In lieu of proof of completion of the Graduate Clerkship or the equivalent, may submit proof of recertification by the NCCPA
  4. Submit a sworn statement of no felony convictions in the previous two years
  5. Submit proof of completion of the CME requirements in compliance with paragraphs 64B8-30.005(2)(c), (d), (e), and (f), F.A.C., for each biennium in which the license was inactive
  6. Pay the appropriate fees

Prescriber Number

If you are not currently authorized to prescribe medicinal drugs and would like to obtain a prescribing license number at the time you are renewing your license you may do so by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application. Please note that while no fee is required for the initial prescribing license number; once you obtain your prescribing license number, there is an additional fee of $150.00 added to the license renewal fee for all subsequent renewals.

Military Exemption

If you are a member of the Armed Forces of the United States on active duty not practicing in the private sector for profit, who was in good standing with the board at the time of becoming active and was entitled to practice or engage in the practice of medicine in Florida, you may be eligible to be exempted from renewal requirements for the duration of active duty, and for a period of six months after discharge.

If you are the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, you may be eligible to be exempted from licensure renewal requirements, but only in cases of absence from the state because your spouses’ duties with the Armed Forces.

Volunteer Health Services Exemption

If you volunteer your services to the medically indigent residents of Florida with incomes at or below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level, you may be eligible for a waiver of your biennial renewal fee and some of the continuing education hours (no more than 25%) required for license renewal; however, the continuing education requirements for domestic violence, HIV and AIDS, and medical errors cannot be waived.

All physician assistant licenses expire at midnight, Eastern Time, January 31, 2014 unless renewed.  At least 90 days before your license expires, the department will mail you a renewal notice to your last known address of record. You will have until midnight on the day your license expires to renew.  Failure to renew your active or inactive license by midnight of the expiration date will result in the license being placed in delinquent status and a delinquent fee will be assessed in addition to the renewal fees. Failure by a delinquent licensee to become active or inactive before the expiration of the current licensure cycle renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department

You may RENEW ONLINE your license if:

  1. You do not need to change the status of your license
  2. You have a credit card/debit card to complete the transaction
  3. Your license status is not ‘Military, Active’
  4. You are not requesting a Volunteer Health Services Exemption

If you lose your user identification and password you may recover it by clicking the button at the right of the screen titled “Login Help.” After logging in to the renewal system, licensees will be prompted to answer a series of questions and required to provide certain information, if appropriate. The renewal process typically takes 10-15 minutes and licensees pay their renewal fee by Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover when they are done.

You may RENEW BY MAIL if:

  1. You need to change the status of your license
  2. You do NOT have a credit card/debit card to complete the transaction and need to pay using a cashiers check or money order
  3. Your license is in ‘Military, Active’ status
  4. Your license is in a Volunteer status
  5. You need to request a name change

To Print Your Renewal Notice Online:

  • Go to www.FLHealthsource.gov
  • Click the Renew My License button
    • You will need your user ID and password to logon.
    • If you do not know your user ID and password: Login Help
  • Once you are properly logged in, you may print your renewal notice by selecting the Renew License link, then click on the Renew by Mail option.

Failure to renew an active or inactive license by the expiration date will result in the license being placed in delinquent status and a delinquent fee will be assessed in addition to the renewal fees. Failure by a delinquent licensee to become active or inactive before the expiration of the current licensure cycle renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department.

Prescriber Number

If you are not currently authorized to prescribe medicinal drugs and would like to obtain a prescribing license number at the time you are renewing your license you may do so by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application. Please note that while no fee is required for the initial prescribing license number; once you obtain your prescribing license number, there is an additional fee of $150.00 added to the license renewal fee for all subsequent renewals.

Military Exemption

To receive an exemption from the renewal requirements, please provide a copy of your orders which provides the beginning and end date of your current enlistment or a copy of your spouse’s orders.  If you are a Commissioned Officer, you may provide a letter from your commanding officer that reflects the length of your contract with a beginning and end date to fulfill this requirement.

Volunteer Health Services Exemption

Online renewal is not available at this time for practitioners requesting this exemption.  To receive an exemption from the biennial renewal fee and some of the continuing education hours (no more than 25%), you will be required to submit a letter certifying the total number of uncompensated health care service hours volunteered during the renewal cycle along with your renewal application.

Name Change

Name changes require legal documentation showing the name change. Please submit a request including your full name as it appears on your license, profession, license number, your new name, your date of birth, the last four digits of your social security number, and your signature. Attach supporting documents, which must be one of the following:

  • a copy of a state issued marriage license that includes the original signature and seal from the clerk of the court
  • a divorce decree showing the name change
  • a court order showing the name change (Adoption, legal name change, federal identity change)

Any one of these will be accepted unless the department has a question about the authenticity of the document. A social security card is not considered legal documentation.

Please Note: The last four digits of the SSN are requested as required by DOH Policy Number DOHP 385-LS05-12 Name Changes for Existing Licensees, which was established for security purposes due to past instances of fraudulent activity.

If renewing BEFORE your license expires, your fees will be:

Active to Active $280.00*
Inactive to Inactive $280.00
Active to Inactive $280.00
Inactive to Active $380.00*
Active to Retired $55.00
Inactive to Retired $55.00
Prescribing Registration* $150.00

If renewing AFTER your license expires, your fees will be:

Active to Active $380.00*
Inactive to Inactive $380.00
Active to Inactive $480.00
Inactive to Active $580.00*
Active to Retired $255.00
Inactive to Retired $255.00
Prescribing Registration* $150.00

If renewing 120 day Notified Delinquent, your fees will be:

Active to Active $660.00*
Inactive to Inactive $660.00
Active to Inactive $660.00
Inactive to Active $760.00
Active to Retired $435.00
Inactive to Retired $435.00
Prescribing Registration* $150.00

*If you are not currently authorized to prescribe medicinal drugs and would like to obtain a prescribing license number at the time you are renewing your license you may do so by checking the appropriate box on the renewal application. No fee is required for the initial prescribing license number; however, once you obtain your prescribing license number, there is an additional fee of $150.00 added to the license renewal fee for all subsequent renewals.

Continuing Education (CE/CME) Requirements

Required Subject Area Required Number of Hours Important Information
General Hours 98
Medical Error 2
Domestic Violence 2 Required every third biennium – Included in the 98 general

sm_divider

First Biennium Renewal: If you are renewing  your license for the first time you are required to complete two hours in Medical Errors, One hour of HIV/AIDS and 97 hours of general CME.  A current NCCPA certification can substitute for the 97 general CME courses.

CE Reporting Information →Reporting Schedule →

Board Rule Approved Providers

  • Minimum of 50 hours must be Cat I CME the remaining 50 hours can be Cat II CME
  • Approved by any of the following: American Academy of Physician Assistants; Accreditation Council for CME; American Medical Association; American Osteopathic Association Council on CME and American Academy of Family Physicians
  • A copy of the NCCPA certificate will count for the 98 required CME hours.  You will need to show proof of Medical Errors & Domestic Violence and your specialty areas of practice if applicable.

Domestic Violence Chart →

Prescribing Physician Assistants

  • In addition to the above requirements, prescribing physician assistants must complete 10 hours of CME in each specialty of the supervising physician.  These hours are included in the 98 general CME

Other Methods of Obtaining Continuing Medical Education per Biennium

  • 5 hours for attending a regular meeting of the Board of Medicine
  • 5 hours for performing pro bono medical services

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

458.347 Physician Assistants

456.013 Department; general licensing provisions

456.024 Members of Armed Forces in good standing with administrative boards or the department; spouses

456.031 Requirement for instruction on domestic violence

456.033 FS Requirement for instruction for certain licensees on HIV and AIDS

456.035 FS Address of record

456.036 FS Licenses; active and inactive status; delinquency

456.038 FS Renewal and cancellation notices

456.0635 FS Medicaid fraud; disqualification for license, certification, or registration

458.347 FS Physician Assistant Licensure

766.1115 FS Health care providers; creation of agency relationship with governmental contractors.

766.1116 FS Health care practitioner; waiver of license renewal fees and continuing education

Florida Administrative Code

64B8-30.005 Continuing Education for Biennial Renewal

64B-9.001 Biennial Licensing

64B8-30.005 Physician Assistant Licensure Renewal and Reactivation, Delinquent

64B8-30.019 Fees