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Are you an active duty member of the United States Armed Services?

Are you a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of an active member of the United States Armed Services?

If you answered “Yes” to any of these questions, you may qualify for a reduction in

Health’s commitment to serving members and veterans of the United States Armed 
Forces and their families online at  
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Important Qualification Information 

All applicants must meet one of the following education and training requirements: 

AND 

 All applicants must meet one of the following additional requirements: 

Florida Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Association (NICA) Fund 

By law, all physicians licensed in Florida must pay into the NICA fund unless qualified for an exemption. Visit 
www.nica.com/medical-providers/ for information on who must pay NICA fees (NICA participating/NICA non-participating) 
and who is exempt from paying these statutorily required fees. 

Please read the information found on the NICA website carefully prior to making your selection, as incorrect selections 
may result in the need for additional assessment of fees to be paid which can delay licensure or for a refund to be issued. 
Requests for refunds due to an overpayment can take several months to process. 

“Participating,” is for Florida licensed physicians who practice obstetrics or perform obstetrical services on a full or part-
time basis and do not meet any of the exemption criteria. Participating physicians pay a $5,000.00 fee. 

“Non-participating,” is for Florida licensed physicians who do not practice obstetrics or perform obstetrical services and 
do not meet any of the exemption criteria. Non-participating physicians pay a $250.00 fee. 

To determine if you qualify for exemption review the exemptions listed on page 24 of this application or visit the NICA 
website listed above. Physicians who are exempt do not pay a NICA fee. If you are a physician claiming exemption, you 
must send proof of your exemption to the board office and NICA. 

Dispensing Practitioner Information 

Dispensing practitioner registration is an optional registration for physicians whose primary practice is in the state of 
Florida. “Dispensing” is defined as the transfer of possession of medicinal drugs from a physician to a patient in the 
office. A practitioner who writes prescriptions or provides medicinal drugs labeled as “drug sample” or “complimentary 
drug” is not a “dispensing practitioner,” and therefore does not need to register with the department. Section 465.0276, 
Florida Statutes, requires that licensees who dispense medicinal drugs pay a fee of $100.00 at the time of registration and 
upon each renewal of the practitioner's license. It is unlawful for any person to sell samples or complimentary packages of 
drug products. A practitioner who confines their activities to dispensing complimentary packages of medicinal drugs to 
patients in the regular course of their practice is not required to register. 

Be a graduate of an Allopathic U.S. Medical School recognized and approved by the U.S. Office of Education and 
completed at least one year of approved residency training; OR 

Be a graduate of an allopathic international medical school (IMG) and have a valid Educational Commission for 
Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) certificate and completed an approved residency of at least two years in one 
specialty area; OR 

Be a graduate who has completed the formal requirements of an international medical school except the internship 
or social service requirement, passed Parts I and II of the NBME or ECFMG equivalent examination, and completed 
an academic year of supervised clinical training (Fifth Pathway) and completed an approved residency of at least two 
years in one specialty area. 

Passed all parts of a United States national examination (NBME, FLEX, or USMLE); OR 

Currently licensed in the U.S. or Canada, and has actively practiced pursuant to such licensure for at least ten years, 
has passed a state board or LMCC examination, and passed the SPEX examination; OR 

Licensed on the basis of a state board exam prior to 1974, and is currently licensed in at least three other 
jurisdictions in the U.S. or Canada, and practiced pursuant to such licensure for at least 20 years 

Visit section 458.311, Florida Statutes, for more information on applying by examination.  
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Medical Doctor by Examination (1024)   
 

 

Select the appropriate fee based on residency/fellowship status: 
 

If NOT in a residency/fellowship     $705.00 + NICA fee 
 

         NICA Exempt: $0.00- Total $705.00 (Submit proof of exemption)          
    

         NICA Non-Participating: $250.00- Total $955.00 
 

         NICA Participating: $5,000.00- Total $5,705.00           
 

    In a residency/fellowship     $555.00 (NICA Exempt) 
 

    (Training director must submit a letter verifying dates of training) 
 
 

       Dispensing* (Optional)              Additional Fee Due: $100.00     
 

*See description on page 3 
 

 

1. PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Applicants who do not currently have a practice address are required to update their online practitioner profile 
with a practice address when it is available.  

Medical Doctor Application for 
Licensure by Examination 

Board of Medicine 
P.O. Box 6330 

Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 
Fax: (850) 488-0596 

Email: BOM_InitialApps@flhealth.gov 

Do Not Write in this Space 
For Revenue Receipting Only 

Total fee includes the following: 
 

Application Fee (non-refundable)           $350.00 
Initial License Fee Non-resident:          $350.00       
Initial License Fee Resident:           $200.00 
Unlicensed Activity Fee                $5.00 
NICA Exempt Fee   $0.00 
NICA Non-Participating Fee           $250.00 
NICA Participating Fee                       $5,000.00 
Dispensing (optional)            $100.00 

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier’s check or 
money order, made payable to the Department of 
Health. Requests for a refund must be made in writing. 
Fees are refundable for up to three years from the 
date of receipt.  

Name: ______________________________________________________________________   Date of Birth: _______________ 
 Last/Surname   First   Middle                 MM/DD/YYYY 
 

Mailing Address: (The address where mail and your license should be sent) 
 

___________________________________________________  _______  __________________________________ 
Street/P.O. Box       Apt. No.     City  
 

________________________________ ________  ___________________ _________________________________ 
State     ZIP       Country         Home/Cell Telephone 
 
Physical Location: (Required if mailing address is a P.O. Box- This address will be posted on the Department of Health’s website.) 
 

___________________________________________________  _______  __________________________________ 
Street  (Place of Employment)    Suite No.     City  
 

________________________________ ________  ___________________ _________________________________ 
State     ZIP       Country         Work/Cell Telephone 
 

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY DATA: 
 

We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with 41 CFR Part 60-3-
Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978); 43 FR 38295 and 38296 (August 25, 1978). This information is 
gathered for statistical and reporting purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 
 

Gender:      Male  Race:     Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander Hispanic  or Latino   White  
     Female     American Indian or Alaska Native  Black or African American  Asian  
      Two or More Races  

 
 
 

Email Notification: To be notified of the status of your application by email, check the “Yes” box and fill in your email address on the 
line provided. If you choose to be notified via email you will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating your email 
address with the board office. 
 

  Yes  No Email Address: ____________________________________________________ 
 

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records 
request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office. Instead contact the office by phone or in writing. 
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2. SOCIAL SECURITY DISCLOSURE 

 
 

 

This information is exempt from public records disclosure. 
 
Pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 666(a)(13), the department is required and authorized to 
collect Social Security numbers relating to applications for professional licensure. Additionally, section 
(s.) 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, authorizes the collection of Social Security numbers as part of the 
general licensing provisions.  
 
 

Last Name: _____________________________________________________________ 
 
 
First Name: _____________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Middle Name: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
 
U.S. Social Security Number: ______________________________________________ 
        
 
 
 

Social Security Information- * Under the Federal Privacy Act, disclosure of Social Security numbers is 
voluntary unless specifically required by federal statute. In this instance, Social Security numbers are 
mandatory pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 653 and 654; and s. 456.013(1), 409.2577, and 
409.2598, Florida Statutes. Social Security numbers are used to allow efficient screening of applicants 
and licensees by a Title IV-D child support agency to ensure compliance with child support obligations. 
Social Security numbers must also be recorded on all professional and occupational license 
applications and will be used for license identification pursuant to Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Welfare Reform Act. 104 Pub. L. Section 317). Clarification of 
the SSA process may be reviewed at www.ssa.gov or by calling 1-800-772-1213. 
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  Name: _____________________________________________ 

3. APPLICANT BACKGROUND

A. Are you using the Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) to verify your core credentials?
  Yes     No 

FCVS is not a requirement for licensure. FCVS will primary source verify and provide a copy of the medical 
school transcript(s), medical school diploma, medical school verification, name change document(s), national 
examination score report, ECFMG certificate, ECFMG verification and postgraduate training verifications. For 
more information about FCVS, visit their website at www.fsmb.org/fcvs/. 

B. List any other name(s) by which you have been known in the past. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

C. List the year you legally began to practice medicine (may be the date you began your postgraduate training).

Year: ________
  YYYY 

D. Do you hold, or have you ever held a license to practice medicine or any other regulated professional
license(s)?          Yes          No

E. List all regulated professional licenses (active, inactive, or lapsed). Attach additional sheets if necessary. 

License 
Type 

License # 
State/Jurisdiction 

 or Country 

Original Date 
Issued 

(MM/DD/YYYY) 

Expiration 
Date 

(MM/DD/YYYY) 
Status of License 

Submit a License Verification form to ALL state(s) of licensure. License verifications must be received directly 
from the licensing authority or www.veridoc.org regardless of the status of the license. Check www.veridoc.org for 
states that use the online verification service. Applicants educated outside the U.S. may be required to request 
international license verification(s). You will be notified in writing if international license verification is required. 

 

F. If you have ever served in the United States (U.S.) Military or Public Health Service (PHS), have you ever been
disciplined by any branch of the U.S. Military or PHS?          Yes          No           N/A

If “Yes,” provide the following:

A self-explanation on a separate sheet providing accurate details (including, but not limited to, the 
date(s), location(s), and specific circumstances). 

Documentation from the U.S. Military/PHS regarding the disciplinary action and charge(s)/event(s).

4. AVAILABILITY FOR DISASTER

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance
teams during times of emergency or major disaster?          Yes          No

If you respond "Yes," your name will be added to a listing that is available to the Department of Health if a disaster
is declared. If you live in an area where you may be able to help you will be called on if needed.
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

5. EDUCATION / TRAINING HISTORY

A. Have you completed the equivalent of two academic years of preprofessional, postsecondary education
including courses in anatomy, biology and chemistry prior to entering medical school?          Yes          No 

B. List in chronological order all medical schools attended, whether completed or not. Attach a separate sheet if
necessary. 

School Name School Address 
Dates of Attendance: 

From-To 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

Date Degree 
Received 

(MM/DD/YYYY)  
to 

to 

to 

to 

All applicants except those using FCVS must have the “Medical Degree Verification” form (found at the 
back of the application) submitted directly to the board office from the school from which they received their 
medical degree. Any information not verifiable by FCVS may require the applicant to submit it.  

C. Are you currently certified by the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)?
  Yes     No 

All applicants who are certified by the ECFMG except those using FCVS must have ECFMG Certification 
Status Report submitted to the board office directly from the ECFMG. Contact ECFMG Applicant Information 
Services at:

ECFMG 
3624 Market Street 
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2685 USA 
Phone: (215) 386-5900 (Mon-Fri, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST) 
Fax: (215) 386-9196 
www.ecfmg.org  

Include your USMLE/ECFMG Identification Number, if one has been assigned, when communicating with ECFMG. 

D. List in chronological order from date of graduation from medical school to the present all postgraduate training
(internship/residency/fellowship) including international training. List all programs you began, whether or not you
completed or received credit for the training.

All applicants except those using FCVS must have the “Postgraduate Training Verification” form (found 
at the back of the application) submitted directly to the board office from the Chairman/Director of each 
postgraduate training program attended, whether completed or not. Applicants must submit this form for any 
non-accredited training. 

E. Are you certified by any specialty board recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties or specialty
board approved by the Florida Board of Medicine?          Yes          No

If you responded “Yes,” complete the following:

Board Name Certification/Specialty/Subspecialty 
Date of Certification 

(MM/YYYY) 

Program Name/Address Specialty Area 
Dates of Attendance: 

From-To 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

Credit 
Received? 

to  Y     N 

to  Y     N 

to  Y     N 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

6. FIFTH PATHWAY CERTIFICATE HOLDERS ONLY

Answer the questions in this section only if you hold a Fifth Pathway Certificate.

A. Did you attend an international medical school and do not possess a valid ECFMG Certificate?   Yes    No 

B. Did you receive a bachelor’s degree from an accredited United States college or university?    Yes     No 

C. Did you study at a medical school which is recognized by the World Health Organization?    Yes       No 

D. Did you complete all of the formal requirements of the International medical school, except the internship or
social service requirements, and pass Part I of the National Board of Medical Examiners or the Educational
Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates Examination equivalent?          Yes          No

E. Did you complete an academic year of supervised clinical training in a hospital affiliated with a medical school
approved by the Council on Medical Education of the American Medical Association and upon completion
passed Part II of the National Board of Medical Examiners examination or the Educational Commission for
Foreign Medical Graduates examination equivalent?          Yes          No

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must request verifications be sent to the
board office directly from the appropriate entity.

All Fifth Pathway Certificate holders must submit the following:

Copy of your bachelor’s degree diploma from an accredited United States college or university  

Verification of your Fifth Pathway program 

Verification of NBME I & II examination, USMLE or ECFMG examination equivalent score reports 

7. EXAMINATION HISTORY

Select from the following which exam(s) you have passed:

National Examination (NBME, FLEX, or USMLE) 

LMCC and SPEX 

State Board (after 1974) and SPEX 

State Board (prior to 1974) 

Combination (prior to 2000)- View https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=64B8-5 for more 
information. 

All applicants except those using FCVS must request all examination score reports to be submitted to the 
board office directly from the score reporting entity. The applicant is responsible for any associated fees to furnish 
this information. Use the following information to contact the appropriate reporting entity. 

National Board score report   SPEX, FLEX, or USMLE score report 
National Board of Medical Examiners Inc. Federation of State Medical Boards 
3750 Market Street  400 Fuller Wiser Rd., Suite 300 
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3190   Euless, TX 76039-3855 
(215)590-9500 (817)868-4000
www.nbme.org www.fsmb.org

Exam Taken 
Exam Date 

(MM/DD/YYYY) 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 
 

8. EMPLOYMENT HISTORY 
 

A. List in chronological order all employment including practice employment for the last four years. 

Name of Employer Employer Address Position Title 
Employment Dates:  

From-To  
(MM/DD/YYYY)  

   to 

   to 

   to 
   to 

 

B. Are you a graduate of an international medical school applying for licensure under s. 458.311(8)(e), Florida 
Statutes, and have been offered full-time employment as a physician from a health care provider that operates 
in Florida?          Yes          No 

 
If you responded “Yes” to B, you must provide documentation from the health care provider confirming 
your offer of full-time employment as a physician.  

      
9. ACADEMIC FACULTY APPOINTMENTS / STAFF PRIVILEGES 

 

A. Do you currently hold a faculty appointment at an accredited medical school?          Yes           No 
 

B. Have you held an active medical faculty certificate under s. 458.3145, Florida Statutes, for at least three years 
and held a full-time faculty appointment for at least three consecutive years to teach in a program of medicine 
listed under s. 458.3145, Florida Statutes?          Yes          No 
 

C. Have you had the responsibility for graduate medical education within the last 10 years?          Yes          No 
 

If you responded “Yes” in questions A-C, complete the following: 
 

Name of Institution: City/State: 

Title of Appointment:  From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                        to 
 

Name of Institution: City/State: 

Title of Appointment:  From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                        to 
 

Name of Institution: City/State: 

Title of Appointment:  From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                        to 
 

D. Do you currently hold staff privileges in any hospital, health institution, clinic, or medical facility? 
           Yes          No 

 

If you responded “Yes” to question D, complete the following:  
 

Name of Facility: City/State: 

Type of Privileges:  From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                        to 
  

Name of Facility: City/State: 

Type of Privileges:  From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                        to 
 

Name of Facility: City/State: 

Type of Privileges:  From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                        to 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 
 
 

E. Have you ever had any staff privileges denied, suspended, revoked, modified, restricted, not renewed, or 
placed on probation, or have you been asked to resign or take a temporary leave of absence or otherwise acted 
against by any facility?          Yes          No 

 
If you responded “Yes,” complete the following: 
 

Name of Facility: 

Address:  

From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                                    to Under Appeal?           Y           N 

 
Name of Facility: 

Address:  

From-To (MM/DD/YYYY):                                    to Under Appeal?           Y           N 
 

 

If you responded “Yes” to E, you must provide the following: 
 
A written self-explanation on a separate sheet describing in detail the circumstances  

 
  Supporting documents from the applicable entity 

 
10. OTHER ITEMS REQUIRED  

 
National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) Self-Query- All applicants are required to complete a self-query to the 
NPDB and upon receipt of the report, provide the board office with a copy. The NPDB charges a fee to provide the 
self-query. You may contact NPDB at www.npdb.hrsa.gov/. 
 

All supporting documentation not submitted with the application must be sent to the board office at 
BOM_InitialApps@flhealth.gov or mailed to: 

 

Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3253   
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

 
 

This information is exempt from public records disclosure. 

 
 

11. HEALTH HISTORY 
 
 

The board and the department, as part of its responsibility to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, 
must assess whether an applicant manifests any physical, mental health, or substance use issue that impairs the 
applicant’s ability to meet the eligibility requirements for a health care practitioner as defined in chapter (ch.) 456, 
Florida Statutes, and the applicable statutory practice acts.  

The board and the department support applicants seeking treatment and views effective treatment by a licensed 
professional as enhancing the applicant’s ability to meet the eligibility requirements to practice a health care 
profession.  

Seeking assistance with stress, mild anxiety, situational depression, family or marital issues will not adversely affect 
the outcome of a Florida health care practitioner application. The board and the department do not request that 
applicants disclose such assistance.  

 
1. During the last two years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical or mental 

disorder that impaired or impairs your ability to practice?          Yes          No 

2. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed substance-related 
(alcohol or drug) disorder that impaired or impairs your ability to practice?          Yes          No 
 

If a “Yes” response was provided to any of the questions in this section, provide the following documents 
directly to the board office: 
 

A letter from a licensed health care practitioner, who is qualified by skill and training to address the 
condition identified, which explains the impact the condition may have on the ability to practice the profession 
with reasonable skill and safety. The letter must specify that the applicant is safe to practice the profession 
without restrictions or specifically indicate the restrictions that are necessary. Documentation provided must be 
dated within one year of the application date. 
 
A written self-explanation, identifying the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s); and current status. 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 
 

12. DISCIPLINE HISTORY 
 

A. Have you ever had any professional license or license to practice medicine revoked, suspended, placed on 
probation, received a citation, or other action taken in any state, territory, or country? 
          Yes          No 

 
B. Have you ever had any application for a license to practice a regulated profession, including medicine, denied 

by any state board or the licensing authority of any state, territory, or country?          Yes          No 
 

If you responded “Yes” in questions A-B, you must provide the following: 
 

A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action. 
 

A copy of all pertinent information including Administrative Complaint(s), Final Order(s), and current 
disposition. 

 
C. Are you currently under investigation or prosecution in any jurisdiction for an act that would constitute a violation 

under s. 456.072, Florida Statutes, or s. 458.331, Florida Statutes?          Yes          No 
 
If you responded “Yes” in question C, you must provide the following: 

 
A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action. 

 
A letter from the state board/entity explaining the results of the investigation. 

 
If you responded “Yes” in questions A-C, complete the following: 
 

Name of Agency State 
Action Date  

(MM/DD/YYYY) 
Final Action 

Under 
Appeal?  

          Y        N 

          Y        N 

          Y        N 
 

 
D. Have you ever had any final disciplinary action taken against you by a specialty board or other similar national 

organization?          Yes          No 
 

E. Have you ever been denied or surrendered a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) registration?          Yes          No 
 

If you responded “Yes” in questions D-E, you must provide the following: 
 

A written self-explanation on a separate sheet describing in detail the circumstances  
 

Supporting documents from the applicable entity 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

13. CRIMINAL HISTORY

For the question below, you must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld.
Reckless driving, driving while license suspended or revoked (DWLSR), driving under the influence (DUI) or driving
while impaired (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses for purposes of this question.

Pursuant to s. 943.0585(6)(b), Florida Statutes, and s. 943.059(6)(b), Florida Statutes, an applicant seeking to be
licensed by the Department of Health must disclose expunged and sealed criminal history records.

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to any crime in any
jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense?           Yes          No

If you responded “Yes” in this section, complete the following:

Offense Jurisdiction 
Date 

(MM/DD/YYYY) 
Final Disposition 

Under 
Appeal?  

  Y     N 

  Y     N 

  Y     N 

  If you responded “Yes,” you must provide the following: 

A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense; including 
date, city and state, charges and final results. 

Final Dispositions and Arrest Records for all offenses. The Clerk of the Court in the arresting 
jurisdiction will provide you with these documents. Unavailability of these documents must come in the 
form of a letter from the Clerk of the Court.  

Completion of Sentence Documents. You may obtain documents from the Department of Corrections. 
The report must include the start date, end date, and that the conditions were met. 

14. CRIMINAL AND MEDICAID / MEDICARE FRAUD QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration and candidates for examination may be
excluded from licensure, certification, or registration if their felony convictions fall into certain timeframes as
established in s. 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes.

1. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, regardless of adjudication, to a
felony under chapter (ch.) 409, Florida Statutes (relating to social and economic assistance), ch. 817, Florida
Statutes (relating to fraudulent practices), ch. 893, Florida Statutes (relating to drug abuse prevention and
control), or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction?          Yes          No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 2.

a. If “Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the date of
the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation?          Yes          No

b. If “Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of the plea,
sentence, and completion of subsequent probation (this question does not apply to felonies of the third
degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes)?          Yes          No

c. If “Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it been more
than five years from the date of the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation?

 Yes         No

d. If “Yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony
offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed (if “Yes” provide supporting documentation)?

      Yes          No 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, regardless of adjudication, to a
felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to
public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)?          Yes          No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 3.

a. If “Yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any
subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended?          Yes          No

3. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to s. 409.913, Florida
Statutes?          Yes          No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 4.

a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid
Program for the most recent five years?          Yes          No

4. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state, from
any other state Medicaid program?          Yes          No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 5.

a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years?
  Yes     No 

b. Did termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application?  Yes       No 

5. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of the
Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE)?          Yes          No

a. If you responded “Yes” to the question above, are you listed because you defaulted or are delinquent on a
student loan?          Yes          No

b. If you responded “Yes” to question 5.a., is the student loan default or delinquency the only reason you are
listed on the LEIE?          Yes          No 

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following: 

A written self-explanation for each question including the county and state of each termination or 
conviction, date of each termination or conviction, and copies of supporting documentation. 

Supporting documentation including court dispositions or agency orders where applicable. 

 
 

 

Documentation for section 13 and 14 must 

be sent to  the Background Screening Unit at 

MQA.BackgroundScreen@flhealth.gov or 

mailed to: 

Background Screening Unit 

Florida Department of Health 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin BSU‐01 

Tallahassee, FL 32399 

Documentation for sections 11 and 12 must be 

sent to the board office at 

BOM_InitialApps@flhealth.gov or mailed to: 

Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3253 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

15. MALPRACTICE / LIABILITY CLAIM HISTORY

A. Have you had a judgment entered against you for medical malpractice when the incident(s) of malpractice
occurred after November 2, 2004?          Yes          No

B. Within the last 10 years have you had any liability claims or actions for damages for personal injury settled or
finally adjudicated in an amount that exceeds $100,000?          Yes          No

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following:

A written self-explanation listing your involvement in each case 

Completed Exhibit 1 form for each case (found following the application) 

A copy of the complaint and disposition for each case 

For judgments when the incident(s) of malpractice occurred after November 2, 2004, the entire 
case record must be submitted in electronic format (either PDF or TIFF), preferably on a DVD (do not 
send originals). The record must include: 

 Initial and/or amended complaint
 Trial transcripts
 Evidentiary exhibits
 Final judgment

16. LIVESCAN PRIVACY STATEMENT

I have been provided and read the statement from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement regarding the
sharing, retention, privacy and right to challenge incorrect criminal history records and the “Privacy Statement” 
document from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (found in the forms following this application). 

The board will not receive your Livescan results if you do not confirm the above statement by checking the box. 

   Electronic Fingerprinting: (Required for ALL applicants) 

All applicants, including out-of-state applicants, are required to submit their fingerprints electronically. The Department of 
Health accepts electronic fingerprinting offered by Livescan service providers that are approved by the Florida Department 
of Law Enforcement. For a list of approved vendors, visit our website at: 
http://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening/. 

Typically background results submitted by Livescan are received by the board within 24-72 hours of being processed. The 
board’s ORI number is EDOH2014Z. The board cannot accept hard fingerprint cards or results. All results must be 
submitted electronically by the Livescan service provider. 

The Florida Department of Health retains fingerprints on any applicant are retained in the Care Provider Clearinghouse. 
One of the requirements for your Livescan to be retained in the Care Provider Clearinghouse is a photograph must be 
taken by the Livescan service provider at the time of fingerprinting. Your background screening results will be retained for 
five years. Licensees will be notified when their retention date is approaching and will be provided instructions on how to 
retain their fingerprints to avoid having to submit a new background screening.  
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

 
17. APPLICANT SIGNATURE  

  
I have carefully read the questions in the application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any 
kind. I state that my answers and all statements made by me are true and correct. I recognize that providing false 
information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties pursuant to s. 456.067, Florida 
Statutes. 
 
Florida law requires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any circumstances or condition 
stated in the application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the license and 
to supplement the information on this application as needed.  
 
I authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and 
present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Florida 
Board of Medicine information which is material to my application for licensure. 
 
I understand that my records are protected under federal and state regulations governing Confidentiality of Mental 
Health Patient Records and cannot be disclosed without my written consent unless otherwise provided in the 
regulations. I understand that my records are protected under federal and state regulations governing Confidentiality 
of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records, 42 CFR Part 2, and cannot be disclosed without my written consent 
unless otherwise provided in the regulations. I also understand that I may revoke this consent at any time except to 
the extent that action has been taken in reliance upon it. 
 
Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an incomplete application shall expire one year after the initial 
filing with the department. 
 
 
Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________     Date ________________ 
      You may print this application and sign it or sign digitally.         MM/DD/YYYY  
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If you are using FCVS do not submit this form. 

 
Complete verifications must be sent directly from the medical education institution  
to the board office by fax to (850) 412-1268 or by mail to: 
 

Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3257 
 

Board of Medicine 

Medical Degree Verification 
 

Name: _____________________________________________   Date of Birth: ______________ 
           MM/DD/YYYY 
Part I: To be completed by applicant 
 
Name of Medical School: ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: _____________________________ State: ____________________________________  ZIP: _____________ 
  
Part II: To be completed by Medical Education Institution 
 

The above-named doctor has applied for licensure in the state of Florida. Please complete this section and submit to 
the above address.  
 
 

Type of degree awarded: ________________________________ 
 
Date degree received: ________________ 
           MM/DD/YYYY 

 
Verifier Name _______________________________________________ Title ____________________________ 
 
 
Signature ___________________________________________________   Date ______________ 

                     MM/DD/YYYY 
 

  

  Affix school seal 
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If you are using FCVS do not submit this form. 
 
Complete verifications must be sent directly from the chairman/director  
of the postgraduate training program to the board office by email at  
BOM_InitialApps@flhealth.gov, by fax to (850) 412-1268  
or by mail to: 
 

Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3257 
 

Board of Medicine 

Postgraduate Training Verification 
 

Name: _____________________________________________ 
 
Part I: To be completed by applicant 
 
Institution Name: ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Department: __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: _____________________________ State: ____________________________________  ZIP: _____________ 
  
Phone Number: ____________________________________ 
 
Part II: To be completed by Training Institution 
 

The above-named doctor has applied for licensure in the state of Florida. Please complete this section and submit to 
the above address.  
 

1. Dates of internship/residency/fellowship:  _____________   to   _____________  
                              MM/DD/YYYY            MM/DD/YYYY 
 

2. Matriculation date: _____________ 
                          MM/DD/YYYY 
 

3. Completion date: _____________ 
                        MM/DD/YYYY 
 

4. Specialty: __________________________ 
 

5. The levels completed under your purview: 
 

6. Accredited by: 
  

 
 
Program Director/Chair Name _________________________________________________________   
 

Signature ____________________________________________________  Date ________________ 
                       MM/DD/YYYY 

PGY I PGY II PGY III PGY IV PGY V 

     ACGME      RCPSC      CFPC      ACGME-I 

     Other: 
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Board of Medicine 

Financial Responsibility 
Page 1 of 2 

Name: _____________________________________________ 
 
 
The Financial Responsibility options are divided into two categories: coverage and exemptions. 
Choose only ONE option that best describes your situation, unless you choose option 6 in the “Financial Responsibility 
Coverage” section. Not making a choice or choosing more than one option will make this form invalid. Staff is unable to 
advise you on which option to choose. If you have questions regarding an option, consult your legal counsel, insurance 
company or financial institution. 
 

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COVERAGE 
 

1. I do not have hospital staff privileges, I do not perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center, and I have 
established an irrevocable letter of credit or an escrow account in an amount of $100,000/$300,000, in accord 
with ch. 675, Florida Statutes, for a letter of credit and s. 625.52, Florida Statutes, for an escrow account. 

 
2. I have hospital staff privileges or I perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center, and I have established an 

irrevocable letter of credit or escrow account in an amount of $250,000/$750,000, in accord with ch. 675, Florida 
Statutes, for a letter of credit and s. 625.52, Florida Statutes, for an escrow account. 
 

3. I do not have hospital staff privileges, I do not perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center, and I have 
obtained and maintain professional liability coverage in an amount not less than $100,000 per claim, with a 
minimum annual aggregate of not less than $300,000 from an authorized insurer as defined under s. 624.09, 
Florida Statutes, from a surplus lines insurer as defined under s. 626.914(2), Florida Statutes, from a risk 
retention group as defined under s. 627.942, Florida Statutes, from the Joint Underwriting Association established 
under s. 627.351(4), Florida Statutes, or through a plan of self-insurance as provided in s. 627.357, Florida 
Statutes. 

 
4. I have hospital staff privileges or I perform surgery at an ambulatory surgical center, and I have professional 

liability coverage in an amount not less than $250,000 per claim, with a minimum annual aggregate of not less 
than $750,000 from an authorized insurer as defined under s. 624.09, Florida Statutes, from a surplus lines 
insurer as defined under s. 626.914(2), Florida Statutes, from a risk retention group as defined under s. 627.942, 
Florida Statutes, from the Joint Underwriting Association established under s. 627.351(4), Florida Statutes, or 
through a plan of self-insurance as provided in s. 627.357, Florida Statutes. 

 
5. I have elected not to carry medical malpractice insurance; however, I agree to satisfy any adverse judgments up 

to the minimum amounts pursuant to s. 458.320(5)(g)1, Florida Statutes. I understand that I must either post 
notice in a sign prominently displayed in my reception area or provide a written statement to any person to whom 
medical services are being provided that I have decided not to carry medical malpractice insurance. I understand 
that such a sign or notice must contain the wording specified in s. 458.320(5)(g), Florida Statutes. 
 

6. I am exempt from financial responsibility coverage (If you choose this option you must choose one option 
from the exemption category on the following page.) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This form is required  
for ALL applicants. 
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Board of Medicine  

Financial Responsibility 
Page 2 of 2 

 
Name: _____________________________________________ 

 
 

EXEMPTION CATEGORIES OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COVERAGE 
 

1. I practice medicine exclusively as an officer, employee, or agent of the federal government, or of the state or its 
agencies or subdivisions. 
 

2. I hold a limited license issued pursuant to s. 458.317, Florida Statutes, and practice only under the scope of such 
limited license. 

 

3. I practice only in conjunction with my teaching duties at an accredited medical school or its teaching hospitals. 
(Interns and residents do not qualify for this exemption.) 
 

4. I have no malpractice exposure because I do not practice in the state of Florida. I will notify the department 
immediately before commencing practice in the state. 

 

5. I am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility due to meeting all the following criteria (If you select this 
option you must also complete the “Financial Responsibility Affidavit of Exemption” form that follows this 
page): 

 

a. I have held an active license to practice in this state or another state or some combination thereof for more than 
15 years. 
 

b. I am retired or maintain a part-time practice of no more than 1,000 patient contact hours per year. 
 

c. I have no more than two claims resulting in an indemnity exceeding $25,000 within the previous five-year period. 
 

d. I have not been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal violation specified in ch. 458, 
Florida Statutes, or the medical practice act in any other state. 
 

e. I have not been subject, within the past 10 years of practice, to license revocation, suspension, or probation for a 
period of three years or longer, or a fine of $500 or more for a violation of ch. 458, Florida Statutes, or the 
medical practice act of another jurisdiction. A regulatory agency's acceptance of a relinquishment of license, 
stipulation, consent order, or other settlement offered in response to or in anticipation of filing of administrative 
charges against a license is construed as action against a license. I understand if I am claiming an exception 
under this section that I must either post notice in a sign prominently displayed in my reception area or provide a 
written statement to any person to whom medical services are being provided that I have decided not to carry 
medical malpractice insurance. See s. 458.320(5)(f), Florida Statutes, for specific notice requirements.  

Section 456.067, Florida Statutes: Penalty for giving false information. - In addition to, or in lieu of, any other discipline 
imposed pursuant to s. 456.072, Florida Statutes, the act of knowingly giving false information in the course of applying for 
or obtaining a license for the department, or any board thereunder, with intent to mislead a public servant in the 
performance of his or her duties, or the act of attempting to obtain or obtaining a license from the department, or any 
board thereunder, to practice a profession by knowingly misleading statements or knowing misrepresentations constitutes 
a felony of the third degree, punishable in s. 775.082, Florida Statutes, s. 775.083, Florida Statutes, or s. 775.084, Florida 
Statutes. 

 

   Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________  Date ________________ 
                       MM/DD/YYYY 
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Board of Medicine 

Financial Responsibility Affidavit of Exemption 

 
This affidavit is only required if you are claiming exemption 

based on #5 on the preceding page. 

 

 
        I, ___________________________________, do certify and attest that I meet all the following criteria: 
                   (Name) 
 

a. I have held an active license to practice in this state or another state or some combination thereof for more than 
15 years. 
 

b. I am retired or maintain a part-time practice of no more than 1,000 patient contact hours per year. 
 

c. I have no more than two claims resulting in an indemnity exceeding $25,000 within the previous five-year period. 
 

d. I have not been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal violation specified in ch. 458, 
Florida Statutes, or the medical practice act in any other state. 

 
 

e. I have not been subject, within the past 10 years of practice, to license revocation, suspension, or probation for a 
period of three years or longer, or a fine of $500 or more for a violation of ch. 458, Florida Statutes, or the 
medical practice act of another jurisdiction. A regulatory agency’s acceptance of a relinquishment of license, 
stipulation, consent order, or other settlement offered in response to or in anticipation of filing of administrative 
charges against a license is construed as action against a license. I understand if I am claiming an exception 
under this section that I must either post notice in a sign prominently displayed in my reception area or provide a 
written statement to any person to whom medical services are being provided that I have decided not to carry 
medical malpractice insurance. See s. 458.320(5)(f), Florida Statutes, for specific notice requirements.  
 

 
Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________  Date ________________ 

                                                                                 MM/DD/YYYY 

State of ___________  County of __________ 
 
 
Sworn to and/or subscribed before me this _______________ day of _______________________, 20___________ 
 
by _____________________________________________  
 
Personally Known  __________________ OR Produced Identification  __________________ 
 
Type of Identification Produced _______________________________ 
 
 
 

Notary Signature ____________________________ Printed Name of Notary _______________________________ 
 

These signature fields cannot be typed. You must print the form and sign it before a notary public. 

 
 
 
[NOTARY SEAL]  
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FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT 

NOTICE FOR ALL APPLICANTS SUBMITTING FINGERPRINTS WHERE CRIMINAL RECORDS RESULTS 
WILL BECOME PART OF THE CARE PROVIDER BACKGROUND SCREENING CLEARINGHOUSE 

NOTICE OF: 

 SHARING OF CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION WITH SPECIFIED AGENCIES, 
 

 RETENTION OF FINGERPRINTS, 
 

 PRIVACY POLICY, AND 
 

 RIGHT TO CHALLENGE AN INCORRECT CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

This notice is to inform you that when you submit a set of fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law 
Enforcement (FDLE) for the purpose of conducting a search for any Florida and national criminal history 
records that may pertain to you, the results of that search will be returned to the Care Provider Background 
Screening Clearinghouse. By submitting fingerprints, you are authorizing the dissemination of any state and 
national criminal history record to be employed, licensed, work under contract, or serve as a volunteer, 
pursuant to the National Child Protection Act of 1993, as amended, and section 943.0542, Florida Statutes. 
“Specified agency” means the Department of Health, the Department of Children and Family Services, the 
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation within the Department of Education, the Agency for Health Care 
Administration, the Department of Elder Affairs, the Department of Juvenile Justice, and the Agency for Person 
with Disabilities when these agencies are conducting state and national criminal history background screening 
on persons who provide care for children or persons who are elderly or disabled. The fingerprints submitted will 
be retained by FDLE and the Clearinghouse will be notified if FDLE receives Florida arrest information on you. 

 

Your Social Security Number (SSN) is needed to keep records accurate because other people may 
have the same name and birth date. Disclosure of your SSN is imperative for the performance of the 
Clearinghouse agencies’ duties in distinguishing your identity from that of other persons whose 
identification information may be the same or similar to yours. 

Licensing and employing agencies are allowed to release a copy of the state and national criminal record 
information to a person who requests a copy of his or her own record if the identification of your record was 
based on submission of the person’s fingerprints. Therefore, if you wish to review your record, you may 
request that the agency that is screening the record provide you with a copy. After you have reviewed the 
criminal history record, if you believe it is incomplete or inaccurate, you may conduct a personal review as 
provided in s. 943.056, Florida Statutes and Rule 11C-8.001, F.A.C. If national information is believed to be in 
error, the FBI should be contacted at 304-625-2000. You can receive any national criminal history record that 
may pertain to you directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34. You have the right to 
obtain a prompt determination as to the validity of your challenge before a final decision is made about your 
status as an employee, volunteer, contractor, or subcontractor. 

Until the criminal history background check is completed, you may be denied unsupervised access to children, 
the elderly, or persons with disabilities. 

 

The FBI’s Privacy Statement follows on a separate page and contains additional information. 
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US Department of Justice 
Federal Bureau of Investigation 
Criminal Justice Information Services Division 
 

PRIVACY STATEMENT 
 

Authority:  The FBI’s acquisition, preservation and exchange of information requested by this form is generally 
authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include 
numerous Federal statutes, hundreds of State statutes pursuant to Pub. L.92-544, Presidential executive 
orders, regulations and/or orders of the Attorney General of the United States, or other authorized authorities. 
Examples include, but are not limited to: 5 U.S.C. 9101; Pub.L.94-29; Pub.L.101-604; and Executive Orders 
10450 and 12968. Providing the requested information is voluntary; however, failure to furnish the information 
may affect timely completion of approval of your application. 
 
Social Security Account Number (SSAN): Your SSAN is needed to keep records accurate because other 
people may have the same name and birth date. Pursuant to the Federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 USC 552a), 
the requesting agency is responsible for informing you whether disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by what 
statutory or other authority your SSAN is solicited, and what uses will be made of it. Executive Order 9397 also 
asks Federal Agencies to use this number to help identify individuals in agency records. 
 
Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, security, licensing and adoption, may be 
predicated on fingerprint-based checks. Your fingerprints and other information contained on (and along with) 
this form may be submitted to the requesting agency, the agency conducting the application investigation, 
and/or FBI for the purpose of comparing the submitted information to available records in order to identify other 
information that may be pertinent to the application. During the processing of this application, and for as long 
hereafter as may be relevant to the activity for which this application is being submitted, the FBI may disclose 
any potentially pertinent information to the requesting agency and/or to the agency conducting the 
investigation. The FBI may also retain the submitted information in the FBI’s permanent collection of 
fingerprints and related information, where it will be subject to comparisons against other submissions received 
by the FBI. Depending on the nature of your application, the requesting agency and/or the agency conducting 
the application investigation may also retain the fingerprints and other submitted information for other 
authorized purposes of such agency(ies). 
 
Routine Uses: The fingerprints and information reported on this form may be disclosed pursuant to your 
consent, and may also be disclosed by the FBI without your consent as permitted by the Federal Privacy Act of 
1974 (5 USC 552a(b)) and all applicable routine uses as many be published at any time in the Federal 
Register, including the routine uses for the FBI Fingerprint Identification Records System (Justice, FBI-009) 
and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses (Justice/FBI-BRU). Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosure 
to: appropriate governmental authorities responsible for civil or criminal law enforcement counterintelligence, 
national security or public safety matters to which the information may be relevant; to State and local 
governmental agencies and nongovernmental entities for application processing as authorized by Federal and 
State legislation, executive order, or regulation, including employment, security, licensing, and adoption 
checks; and as otherwise authorized by law, treaty, executive order, regulation, or other lawful authority. If 
other agencies are involved in processing the application, they may have additional routine uses. 
 
Additional information: The requesting agency and/or the agency conducting the application investigation will 
provide additional information to the specific circumstances of this application, which may include identification 
of other authorities, purposes, uses and consequences of not providing requested information. In addition, any 
such agency in the Federal Executive Branch has also published notice.  
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Board of Medicine  

Electronic Fingerprinting  
 

Take this form with you to the Livescan service provider. Check the service provider’s  
requirements to see if you need to bring any additional items. 
 

 Background screening results are obtained from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation by submitting a fingerprint scan using the Livescan method. 

 You can find Livescan service providers at: http://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening/. 
 Failure to submit background screening will delay your application. 
 Applicants may use any Livescan service provider approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to 

submit their background screening to the department. 
 If you do not provide the correct Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number to the Livescan service provider, 

the board office will not receive your background screening results. 
 The ORI number for the Board of Medicine is EDOH2014Z. 
 You must provide accurate demographic information to the Livescan service provider at the time your fingerprints 

are taken, including your Social Security number (SSN). 
 Typically background screening results submitted through a Livescan service provider are received by the board 

within 24-72 hours of being processed.  
 If you obtain your Livescan from a service provider who does not capture your photo you may be required to be 

reprinted by another agency in the future. 
 
 
Name: ___________________________________________________________________   SSN#: __________________________ 
 Last    First   Middle 
 
Aliases: __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Address: ____________________________________________________________________ Apt. Number: _________ 
 
 
City: _________________________________________ State: _____________________________ ZIP: ____________ 
 
 
Date of Birth: ________________  Place of Birth: _________________________________________________________ 
                         MM/DD/YYYY 
 
Weight: ____________  Height: ______________ Eye Color: _________________ Hair Color: _____________________ 
 
 
Race: ___________        Sex: ____________ 
(W-White/Latino(a); B-Black; A- Asian; NA-Native American; U-Unknown)         (M= Male; F=Female) 
 
 
Citizenship: _______________________________ 
 
 
Transaction Control Number (TCN#): ___________________________________________________________________ 
                            (This will be provided to you by the Livescan service provider.) 
 
 

Keep this form for your records. 
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Amount Enclosed: $___________ 

Board of Medicine          NICA 

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐03  AND    P.O. Box 14567 

Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3253        Tallahassee, FL 32317‐4567 

Board of Medicine 

P.O. Box 6330 

Tallahassee, FL 32314‐6330 

Board of Medicine 

Florida Birth‐Related Neurological Injury 

Compensation Association (NICA) Form 
 
All applicants must choose one of the three options described below. Check only one.  
 

Visit www.nica.com/medical-providers/ for information on NICA participating, non-participating, and exempt. 
 

 

  

For applicants who choose “Participating”, NICA provides eligible children with lifetime benefits for catastrophic claims 
resulting from certain birth-related neurological injuries. In order to participate, a physician must: 
 

 1. Be licensed to practice medicine in Florida  
 2. Practice obstetrics or perform obstetrical services on a full or part-time basis; and 
 3. Have paid, or been exempted from paying, the required assessment when the incident occurred. 
 

For applicants who choose “Non-participating,” a mandatory annual fee of $250.00 is paid by every physician in Florida who is 
not Participating or Exempt. 
 

Participating and Non-participating applicants must complete and attach this form and appropriate fees to the application or 
submit to the Board of Medicine at:  

 

 
 
Applicants claiming exemption must complete this form, and return it with proof of qualification for the exemption to: 
 
 
 
    

 

Exemptions Include: 
1. Resident physicians, assistant resident physicians and interns in postgraduate training programs approved by the 

Board of Medicine (documentation of the dates of your program signed by the chair of your department must be 
provided to NICA). 
 

2. Retired physicians who maintain an active license, but who have withdrawn from employment in any medically related 
field, as evidenced by an affidavit filed with NICA (a copy of this affidavit must be provided to the Department of Health). 
 

3. Physicians who hold a limited license, as defined by ch. 458, Florida Statutes, who do not receive any 
compensation for medical services (an affidavit must be provided to NICA stating that no compensation is 
received for medical services). 
 

4. Physicians employed full-time by the Veterans Administration whose practices are confined to Veterans Administration 
hospitals (a letter from your employer stating you are a full-time employee as well as an affidavit from you stating you 
are not engaged in the private practice of medicine must be provided to NICA). 
 

5. Any licensed physician on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States; (a letter from your commanding 
officer stating that you are on active duty in the Armed Forces as well as an affidavit from you stating you are not 
engaged in the private practice of medicine must be provided to NICA). 
 

6. Physicians who are full-time state of Florida employees whose practice is confined to state owned correctional 
facilities, mental health or developmental services facilities, or the Department of Health or County Health Department 
(a letter from state government documenting your employment status as well as an affidavit from you stating you are not 
engaged in outside employment must be provided to NICA). 

 

It is each physician's obligation to notify NICA of a subsequent change in status with regard to a claimed exemption. For 
questions about NICA or this form, contact NICA at www.nica.com or (850) 488-8191. 
 

Applicant Name: ___________________________________________________________________    
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________________  
   Street and Number    City   State   ZIP 
 

I have read the information provided by NICA at www.nica.com and I have selected the option above.  
 
Applicant Signature __________________________________________________  Date ________________ 
                     MM/DD/YYYY 

     Exempt- $0.00       Non-participating- $250.00       Participating- $5,000.00 

This form is required  
for ALL applicants. 



DH-MQA 1000, Revised 12/2024, Rule 64B8-4.009, F.A.C.              Page 26 of 28 

Board of Medicine  

Exhibit I‐ Report on Professional  

Liability Claims and Actions 
Page 1 of 2 

 
Include information relating to liability actions occurring within the previous 10 years. The actions are required to be 
reported under s. 456.039 (1)(b), Florida Statutes. You must submit a completed form for each occurrence. If you are an 
allopathic, osteopathic, or podiatric physician, to satisfy this reporting requirement you may submit copies of reports 
previously submitted under the requirements of s. 456.049, Florida Statutes, in lieu of this exhibit to satisfy this reporting 
requirement. 
 
Date of       Date reported               Date claim reported 
occurrence: ____________        to licensee: ____________             to insurer or self-insurer: ____________ 
           MM/DD/YYYY           MM/DD/YYYY      MM/DD/YYYY 

 
Injured person’s full name: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: _________________________________________ State: ________________________ ZIP: _____________ 
 
Age: __________  Sex: __________ 
 
List all defendants with their health care provider license number involved in this claim: 

Defendant Health Care Provider License # 

    

    

    

    
 

Date of suit, if filed: __________      Date of final claim disposition: ___________ 
        MM/DD/YYYY                  MM/DD/YYYY 
 

Date of judgment/settlement, if any: ___________  Amount of judgment/settlement, if any: $ __________ 
             MM/DD/YYYY 
 

Was there an itemized verdict?          Yes          No  If “Yes,” attach a copy of the settlement verdict. 
 
Indemnity paid on behalf of this defendant:  $_______________  
 
Loss Adjustment expense paid to defense counsel: $_______________ 
 
All other loss adjustment expense paid:    $_______________ 
 
If no judgment or settlement, provide the following: Date: ___________ Reason: _________________________ 
                  MM/DD/YYYY 
 

Name of institution at which the injury occurred: __________________________________________________________ 
 
Location of injury occurrence: 
 

     Critical Care Unit      Emergency Room      Labor & Delivery Room 

     Nursery Operating Suite      Patient’s Room 

Physical Therapy Dept.      Radiology      Recovery Room 

    Special Procedures Room      Other: _________________________________ 
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Final diagnosis for which treatment was sought or rendered: ________________________________________________ 
 
Describe misdiagnosis made, if any, of the patient’s actual condition: __________________________________________ 
 
Describe the operation, diagnostic, or treatment procedure causing the injury. Use nomenclature and/or description of the 
procedures used. Include method of anesthesia, or name of drug used for treatment, with detail of administration. 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Describe the principal injury giving rise to the claim. Use nomenclature and/or description of the injury. Include type of 
adverse effect from drugs where applicable. 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Safety management steps taken by the licensee to make similar occurrences less likely. 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
I represent that these statements are true and correct pursuant to s. 837.06, Florida Statutes. I recognize that providing 
any false statements made in writing with the intent to mislead the department staff in the performance of their official 
duties shall be punishable as provided in s. 775.082, Florida Statutes, and s. 775.083, Florida Statutes.  
 

Applicant Name  ______________________________________________________   

 

Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________    Date ________________ 
                       MM/DD/YYYY 
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Complete verifications must be sent directly from the licensing agency 
to the board office at BOM_InitialApps@flhealth.gov, or mailed to:  

Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3257 

 

Board of Medicine License Verification Request  

 
Part I: To be completed by applicant (Florida requires verification of all your current and previously held 
licenses.) 
 
Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name original license was issued under: _________________________________________________________ 
 
License Number: _____________________________________ State: _________________________________ 
 
I authorize release of any information regarding my licensure status to the Florida Board of Medicine.  
 
Applicant Signature: _________________________________________________ Date: __________________ 
            MM/DD/YYYY 
 

 
 
Part II: To be completed by state licensing agency 
 
All verifications must be in English and include the following criteria: 
 

* Typed on an official state form or letterhead 
* Include an official board seal 
* Signature and title of state board official 

 
     The following information must be included in all verifications: 
 

* Licensee name   * License number  * State or jurisdiction of licensure 
* Licensure status   * Is license in good standing? 
* Date of issuance/expiration  
* Licensure method (examination or reciprocity/endorsement) 
* Has this license ever been encumbered (denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered, limited, placed 

on probation)? 
* If this license has ever been encumbered, please provide certified copies of documentation 

regarding the action with the completed license verification. 
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