



Boards of Medicine and Osteopathic Medicine

Information sent to all qualified physicians who may certify patients for medical marijuana in the State of Florida.

Regarding: Statutorily Required Physician Documentation Form

64B8-9.018 and 64B15-14.013, F.A.C.

DH-MQA-5027 (Rev. 02/18)

At this time, the Patient Qualifying Condition "k" response fields in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry do not comply with statutory and rule requirements. The "Statutorily Required Documentation Form" must still be submitted to the applicable board within 14 days of the certification date.

Physician certifications for qualified patients diagnosed with a qualifying condition under section 381.986 (2)(k), Florida Statutes, require documentation that supports the certification.

Section 381.986 (4)(b), F.S. states:

"If a qualified physician issues a physician certification for a qualified patient diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition pursuant to paragraph (2)(k), the physician must submit the following to the applicable board within 14 days after issuing the physician certification:

- 1. Documentation supporting the qualified physician's opinion that the medical condition is of the same kind or class as the conditions in paragraphs (2)(a)-(j).
- 2. Documentation that establishes the efficacy of marijuana as treatment for the condition.
- Documentation supporting the qualified physician's opinion that the benefits of medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for the patient.
- 4. Any other documentation as required by board rule.

If you have questions, contact the Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Bureau of Health Care Practitioner Regulation at: MQA.HCPR-DataTeam@flhealth.gov or by calling 850-617-1903.

Posted online 02/21/2019 Page 1 of 1