Bureau of Vital Statistics

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 210

Jacksonville, Florida 32231-0042

Physical Address:

1217 N. Pearl Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
Website:
www.flhealth.gov/certificates

(904) 359-6900

Other Vital Statistics Services

We also offer Certifications of
Florida Events: Birth, Death, Fetal,

Marriage and Divorce

Questions?

Telephone: (904) 359-6900

Client Services(certifications) ext. 9000
Adoptions ext. 9001
Amendment, Corrections  ext. 9005
Apostille ext. 9006

Cause of Death, Medical ext. 9013

Delayed Birth ext. 9003
Legal Name Change ext. 9005
Paternity ext. 9004
Presumptive Death ext. 9005
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How to Apply for a
Florida Certificate of
Nonviable Birth

Section 382.0086, Florida Statutes




Grieving Families Act

In 2017, the Florida Legislature
established a new certificate entitled
Certificate of Nonviable Birth
(Section 382.0086, Florida Statutes).

A “nonviable birth” means an
unintentional, spontaneous fetal
demise occurring between the 10th
through 19th week of gestation.

The health care practitioner in
attendance of a nonviable birth
shall:

e Offer to prepare Certificate of
Nonviable Birth for the parent(s).

e |If sorequested, file/register the
nonviable birth within 30 days
with the Bureau of Vital
Statistics.

e Provide the parent(s)
information on how to contact
the Bureau of Vital Statistics to
request a Certificate of
Nonviable Birth.

e Inform the parent(s) that the
Certificate of Nonviable Birth is
available as a public record.

Certificate of Nonviable Birth

The Certificate of Nonviable Birth is not proof of live
birth and may not be used to establish identity.

Once filed by the health care practitioner in attendance,
the parent(s) may request the Bureau of Vital Statistics
issue a certificate of nonviable birth.

The Bureau of Vital Statistics will issue a Certificate of
Nonviable Birth within 60 days upon the request.
Parentage information is confidential and can only be
released to the parent(s) listed on the certificate. Valid
ID is required when requesting the confidential portion.

How to Apply

The fee for a certification of a Certificate of Nonviable
Birth is $9; additional copies are $4 each if ordered at
the same time. Check or money order should be made
payable to Vital Statistics and must be in U.S. dollars.
Florida law imposes an additional service charge of $15
for returned checks.

1) In person: Office of Vital Statistics
1217 N. Pearl Street
Jacksonwville, FL 32202
Hours: Mon —Fri 8:00am—4:30pm ET
904-359-6900
Same day service is not available

2) By Mail: Complete the convenient order form
inside this brochure. The certification will be mailed
within 60 days of receipt providing the record is on
file.

RUSH service is provided for an additional $10. Rush
orders are given priority processing. Please write RUSH
on the outside of the envelope.

Application
For Florida Certificate of Nonviable Birth

(First copy is $9; additional copies are $4 each if ordered

at the same time)

REGISTRANT:

Full Name on Record Sex

Date of Occurrence County of Event

Mother/Parent Full Name

Father/Parent Full Name

APPLICANT:

Name

Signature of Applicant

Relationship to Registrant

/

Number of Copies ordered / Amount of Money enclosed

APPLICANT’s MAILING ADDRESS:

Street Address Apt. No.

City, State, Zip

Telephone Email Address

Tear off the above application and mail with payment and

copy of valid ID (if requesting confidential portion) to:
Vital Statistics
Attn: Client Services
P.0.Box 210
Jacksonville, Florida 32231-0042



