
                                           FLORIDA BOARD OF MEDICINE  
AREA OF CRITICAL NEED 

APPLICATION PROCESS FOR TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE TO PRACTICE 
IN AN AREA OF CRITICAL NEED 

 
When you are ready to apply for the Florida Temporary Certificate to Practice in an Area of 
Critical Need, here is some information that would help expedite the licensure process. You can 
arrange to have all required documentation and information sent directly to the board office before 
or at the same time you submit your application. 
• Complete the application on-line at http://flboardofmedicine.gov/licensing/ 
• Pay the appropriate fees when you apply. An application will not be processed without 

appropriate fees 
• Request that these items be sent directly to the Board office: 

o  Medical Degree verification form  
o  Letter of Intent to Employ from the approved facility. The letter should state whether       

or not you will be compensated for medical services. 
o License verification form/s for each jurisdiction in the United States where you held 

or currently hold a license 

• You must send these documents directly to the Board office: 
o Military discharge document (if applicable) 
o National Practitioner Databank report 

• Complete the electronic fingerprinting process. You can find a detailed description of required 
documents at the background screening website at 
http://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening/ 

 

FEE INFORMATION 
 
$905.00 – Licensure fee (for any person who is issued an Area of Critical Need License as 
provided in Sections 458.315, Florida Statutes) includes: 

 
• $300.00 – Application Fee (non – refundable)  
• $355.00 – Initial License Fee 
• $250.00 or $5,000.00 – NICA Fee (please read information at www.nica.com) 
• $100.00 – Dispensing Practitioner Fee (optional) 

o Fee is required if you will be selling pharmaceuticals in the facility or office. 

 
FLORIDA LAWS AND RULES 
All licensees are responsible for knowing the laws and rules of Area of Critical Need.  To view 
and / or download a copy of the Statues and Rules and find the list of approved facilities, visit 
http://flboardofmedicine.gov/licensing/temporary-certificate-for-practice-in-areas-of-critical-need/  
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT CONDITIONS OF LICENSURE 
 
You have been licensed to practice in the approved area of critical need 
facility you listed in your application. You may change locations after 
licensure but must follow these requirements: 

• The new location must be on the department’s list of 
approved facilities.  

• You must notify the Board of Medicine office within 30 days 
of changing or adding locations. 
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CRITICAL NEED 
 

The Florida 

Board of Medicine was 

established “to ensure that every 

physician practicing in this state 

meets minimum requirements for 

safe practice.” The practice of 

medicine is a privilege granted by 

the state. The Florida 

Board of Medicine, through 

efficient and dedicated 

organization, will license, 

monitor, discipline, educate, and 

when appropriate, rehabilitate 

physicians and other 

practitioners to assure their 

fitness and competence in the 

service of the people of Florida. 

 

Visit our website to learn more! 

http://flboardofmedicine.gov/ 

 

Contact Information: 

Florida Board of Medicine 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN C03 

Tallahassee, FL 32399-3251 

850-245-4131 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/ 

 



 
 
 


