A Bill You Should Know
The 2017 Florida Legislative Session has produced HB 1307: Physician Assistant Workforce Surveys. The following is a breakdown of the new law – which went into effect June 23, 2017 – and its implications regarding licensure.
Summary: This bill mandates that the physician assistant license renewal process include the submission of a completed workforce survey within 90 days of renewal. Physician assistants found to be delinquent will be subject to a Department of Health-issued non-disciplinary citation, to include notification that the survey be completed under threat of license renewal denial for any subsequent renewal period.
The Department of Health is required to report the data collected from such surveys to the boards biennially.
To see the full text for HB 1307, Click here.
HB 1121 Child Welfare
Effective Date: July 1, 2017
HB 1121 (full text)
Summary: HB 1121 permits hospitals licensed under Ch. 395, F.S. and physicians’ offices to release patient records to the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) for investigative purposes. DCF agents or representatives can now obtain records without written permission from the patient, but only when the information will be used to investigate cases of abuse, neglect, or exploitation that impact children and/or vulnerable adults.
The bill also requires mental health receiving facilities to initiate an involuntary examination of a minor admitted under the Baker Act; this examination must take place within 12 hours of arrival at the facility.
If you’d like to view all 2017 bills impacting health care professions, please go to https://www.flhealthsource.gov/2017-bills