Board Announces Chair and Vice Chair for 2015

Posted in Latest News on January 8, 2015.

At the December 5, 2014 meeting of the Florida Board of Medicine, the board voted to have two members to serve as Chair, and two to serve as Vice Chair for 2015. James W. Orr, Jr., M.D., FACOG, FACS, will serve as Chair from January 1, 2015 through June 30, 2015, with Steven P. Rosenberg, M.D. serving as the Vice Chair for that period. Bernardo Fernandez, M.D. will serve as Chair for the last half of the year—July 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015—while Sarvam TerKonda, M.D. serves as Vice Chair.


Dr. Orr has been certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology since 1983, and currently serves as the Medical Director for Southwest Florida’s Regional Cancer Center at Lee Memorial Hospital System in Fort Myers, FL. He received his medical degree from the University of Virginia, School of Medicine in 1976, and completed his internship and residency, as well as a fellowship in Gynecologic Oncology, at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He has held a Subspecialty Certification in Gynecologic Oncology since 1984.

Dr. Orr has served on the Florida Board of Medicine since 2010, and in 2013 he served as the board’s Vice Chair. He has previously served as the President of the Society of Gynecologic Oncology, the Florida Society of Gynecologic Oncology, and the Florida Obstetrical and Gynecologic Society. He was named one of the “Best Doctors for Women” by Good Housekeeping in 1997, and has been listed in Best Doctors in America from 1996 to 2014. In 2000, he received the Saks Fifth Avenue Humanitarian Award. Dr. Orr has published 125 peer reviewed articles, 4 textbooks, and 33 chapters in addition to serving as the Associate Editor of Journal of Gynecologic Oncology and American Journal of Clinical Oncology.

Dr. Orr will replace outgoing Chairman Nabil El Sanadi, M.D.



Incoming Vice Chairman, Dr. Rosenberg, is a physician and partner with Palm Beach Dermatology, Inc. in West Palm Beach, FL, and is certified by the American Board of Dermatology. After obtaining his medical degree from Albert Einstein College of Medicine, he went on to complete his post-graduate work  in Internal Medicine at Harbor General-UCLA Medical Center in Los Angeles, CA and Montefiore Hospital in New York, NY before completing his residency in Dermatology at Jackson Memorial Hospital at the University of Miami in Miami, FL. He continues to teach at the University of Miami, where he serves as a Clinical Professor of Dermatology and Cutaneous Surgery, and has served as the Chief of Dermatology at St. Mary’s/Good Samaritan Hospitals.

Dr. Rosenberg is currently serving his second term on the Board of Medicine. His original appointment in 2006 made him the first dermatologist to ever serve on the board; he has served as Chair of the Rules and Legislative Committee, Chair of Probable Cause, and in 2010 he served as the board’s First Vice Chair.  He has been on the Board of the Palm Beach County Cultural Council as well as the South Florida Science Museum Board of Trustees, where he was President in 1998.  His volunteer work includes providing medical services around the world in places like Irrua, Nigreria and Kendu Bay, Kenya, and Sikonge, Tanzania. The Florida Society of Dermatology named him Practitioner of the Year in 1993-1994, and has been listed in Best Doctors in America yearly since 1996.

Dr. Rosenberg will replace outgoing Vice Chairman Bernardo Fernandez, M.D.

More Latest News

Announcing a 2024 Annual Report
January 1, 2024

Providing a summary of physician certification annual data submitted to the medical marijuana use registry. Continue reading

December 14, 2023

MQA Online Services will be unavailable from Friday, December 15, at 6:00 PM to December 17, at 12:00 PM EST. Continue reading