Medical Expert Witnesses: Providing Insight and Preserving Integrity

Posted in Latest News on March 19, 2013.

Medical Expert Witnesses are active licensed physicians in the State of Florida who provide valuable insight into medical negligence cases and help regulate the medical profession. In order to become an expert witness in the State of Florida, an active Florida physician must obtain a Medical Expert Witness Certificate with the Florida Board of Medicine. 

Florida licensed physicians have the opportunity to aid in the regulation of the medical profession by becoming a Medical Expert Witness. As an Expert Witness, a physician can help determine whether a Florida licensed medical professional has conformed to proper standards of care in medical negligence cases statewide. By providing written or oral testimony to proper standards of care in various medical specialty areas, Expert Witnesses help to preserve and maintain the integrity of the medical profession.

Physicians who obtain an Expert Witness Certificate with the Board of Medicine and provide pro bono, or volunteer, services such as case review and written opinions can receive Continuing Medical Education (CME) Credits of 5.0 hours per case, for up to 15 hours per license renewal period. For other services, such as deposition and trial services, an Expert Witness can be compensated at a rate of $160.00 per hour. Physicians who wish to be a paid Expert Witness can be compensated at a modest hourly rate for all services provided. 

Florida physicians wishing to obtain an Expert Witness Certificate with the Board of Medicine must have a current and active Florida license with no history of disciplinary action, be board certified, and be currently practicing medicine in the State of Florida. The Department currently needs experts in the following specialty areas:

  • Cardiology
  • General Anesthesiology
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • OB/GYN
  • Orthopedic Spine Surgery
  • Pain Management

The Expert Witness Certificate Application can be found by navigating to the Resources page of our website and selecting Applications.



More Latest News

Reporting of COVID-19 for Health Care Providers and Facilities
April 30, 2020

COVID-19 positive patients and COVID-19 laboratory results are subject to mandatory reporting to the Florida Department of Health under Section 381.0031, Florida Statutes. Continue reading


Public Health Emergency License Reactivation
April 13, 2020

Health care practitioners with inactive licenses may temporarily reactivate their license to help during the COVID-19 Pandemic Continue reading




Supporting Documents
Medical Degree Verification
NICA FORM
Postgraduate Training Verification