Information for PA’s – CME Requirements

Posted in Latest News on March 18, 2014.

In Florida, Physician Assistant’s (PA’s) are required to renew their license every two (2) years.  Now, this can be done online.

As part of renewal, the PA must complete CME and upload the completed CME into the CE@renewal system prior to renewal. The renewal period (or licensing biennium) is February 1st – January 31st.  That means the CME must be completed during this time.

CME requirements for PA’s include the following:

1. 100 hours of CME (general CME) or NCCPA certification

– Minimum of 50 hours must be Category I CME approved by the American   Academy of Physician Assistants, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Medical Association Council on Continuing Medical Education or the American Academy of Family Physicians.

-The remaining 50 hours may be Category II CME

2. 2 hours in the Prevention of Medical Errors (state-specific CME):

-May be Category I or II CME
-One hour of the course provided by a facility licensed under Chapter 395 (hospitals), F.S., for its employees may be used to partially meet this requirement.

3. 2 hours in Domestic Violence every three (3) licensing biennium (state-specific CME)

-May be Category I or II CME, and can be home study

4. 1 hour HIV/AIDS – first renewal only (state-specific CME)

-Category I CME only

PA’s with prescribing privileges must complete 10 hours CME in the specialty area of their supervising physician.  These hours can count toward the general 100 hours CME noted above.

NOTE: CME obtained to meet the requirements of a Final Order (discipline) cannot be used for renewal.

Licensees who are spouses of members of the Armed Forces of the United States shall be exempt from all licensure renewal provisions (including CME) for any period of time in which the licensee is absent from the State of Florida due to the spouse’s duties with the Armed Forces.

Pertinent laws:

-s. 458.347, Florida Statutes – Physician Assistants

Pertinent rules:

-Rule 64B8-30.005, Florida Administrative Code – Physician Assistant Licensure Renewal and Reactivation



More Latest News

Board Mourns Tragedy in Orlando, Gives Thanks to Health Care Responders
June 17, 2016

As we mourn the tragic events that occurred in Orlando over the weekend, the Division of Medical Quality Assurance joins friends and colleagues in Central Florida and across the state to thank the dedicated health care professionals who have so … Continue reading


Position Statement on Disruptive Behavior
June 14, 2016

The Florida Board of Medicine offers its expertise and guidance to health care facilities and other health care professionals in dealing with the issue of disruptive behavior. The American Medical Association (AMA) defines disruptive behavior as physical or verbal personal … Continue reading