In Florida, Physician Assistants (PAs) can prescribe, order and dispense mediations. However, PAs are not permitted to prescribe the medicinal drugs listed in the formulary.
In order for a PA to prescribe, the supervising physician must delegate such authority to the PA. Each supervising physician and PA shall enter into and maintain a written agreement outlining which medicinal drugs not prohibited by the formulary the supervising physician is delegating to the PA to prescribe. This agreement must be maintained for five (5) years. Supervising physicians may only delegate authority to prescribe medicinal drugs that are used in the supervising physician’s specialty area/practice.
When prescribing, the PA must:
- Clearly identify that he/she is a PA and the patient has a right to see the physician before a prescription is prescribed or dispensed by the physician assistant.
- Supervising physician must notify the Department of the delegation of prescriptive privileges. Form DH-MQA 2001 – Application for Licensure as a Prescribing PA is the form to use to apply for prescribing privileges. Use form DH-MQA 2002 – Application for Changes to Prescribing License to report any changes in prescriptive privileges. These forms are available on our website at www.FLBoardofMedicine.gov. There is no fee for the initial prescribing application. The renewal fee is $150.
- At each licensure renewal, the PA must complete a minimum of 10 CME hours in the specialty practice in which the PA has prescriptive privileges. Three of those hours must be a course on the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substance medications. The course must be offered by statewide professional association of physicians in this state accredited to provide educational activities designated for the American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award Category 1 credit or designated by the American Academy of Physician Assistants as a Category 1 credit. Note that these hours may count towards general CME required for renewal of the PA license.
- Prescriptions must be written in a form that complies with Chapter 499, Florida Statutes and must contain the following information:
- Supervising physician’s name, address, telephone number
- PA’s prescriber number
- PAs must note the prescription of medication in the appropriate medical record.
Upon any change of employment status, the PA’s prescribing privileges shall immediately be stayed until a new written agreement is entered into and a new form is filed with the Department.
Also remember that a supervision data form must be completed for the supervising physician, in addition to completion of the prescribing application. Basically, you will be telling the Department who your supervising physician is, that he/she has delegated prescriptive privileges to you, and you have completed the required 10 hours of CME in the specialty area of the supervising physician.
A dispensing physician may delegate to a prescribing PA the authority to dispense any medication used in the supervising physician’s practice, unless such medication is listed in the formulary. In order to dispense medicinal drugs, a PA must register as a dispensing PA. Use form DH-MQA 1240, also available on our website. There is no fee to register.
A PA, under the direction of his or her supervisory physician, may order any medication for administration to the supervisory physician’s patient(s) in a facility licensed under chapter 395 or part II of chapter 400.
Remember, it is the responsibility of the licensee to know and understand the laws and rules that govern the license and all pertinent laws and rules may not be listed or addressed in this article. If you are unsure, always check first.
– s. 458.347, Florida Statutes
– Rule 64B8-30.003(5), Florida Administrative Code – Physician Assistant Licensure
– Rule 64B8-30.004(3), Florida Administrative Code – Change in Employment Status
– Rule 64B8-30.005(6), Florida Administrative Code – Physician Assistant Licensure Renewal and Reactivation
– Rule 64B8-30.006, Florida Administrative Code – Dispensing Drugs
– Rule 64B8-30.007, Florida Administrative Code – Requirements and Limitations of Prescribing Privileges
– Rule 64B8-30.008, Florida Administrative Code – Formulary
– Rule 64B8-4.029, Florida Administrative Code – Registration as a Dispensing Physician; Delegation of Dispensing to Prescribing Physician Assistants
For more information, please visit the Board’s web site at www.FLBoardofMedicine.gov. Also find the Board on its newly created Twitter account – @FLBoardofMED.