The Department of Health utilizes experts to review complaints filed against Florida licensed medical professionals who may have failed to provide appropriate medical care such as is expected of a medical practitioner in the State of Florida. Being an expert witness for the Department not only helps to improve the efficiency of the disciplinary process, but also allows you to play an active role in helping to regulate your profession.
To qualify, Experts should:
(1) have a current Florida license for a minimum of 5 years and
(2) be actively teaching and/or practicing in Florida, devoting at least 75% of practice to the provision of direct patient care, with
(3) current Board Certifications
(4) not have ever been the subject of any disciplinary action by the medical licensing authority of any state or jurisdiction, and
(5) not have any open complaints with the Department of Health or medical licensing authority of any state or jurisdiction,
(6) currently be in good standing with the respective healthcare profession for which his or her services are required.
The Department offers various ways to become an expert witness within the confines of the Department’s investigations and prosecutions. If you wish to provide your services pro bono, Board rules provide an official recognition for time spent in the review of a case and written opinion by awarding Continuing Medical Education (CME) Credits of 5.0 hours per case, up to a maximum of 15 hours per biennial license renewal period towards risk management. If a case is transferred to the Division of Administrative Hearings (DOAH), review, conferences, deposition testimony and trial services will be compensated at an agreed upon rate or at the rate set by the Administrative Law Judge after a hearing on the reasonableness of fees.
If you wish to be a paid expert, you will be compensated at a modest rate of $100.00 to $125.00 per hour for time spent in the review of a case and written opinion. Review rate remains the same while under the Department’s jurisdiction, but after transfer to DOAH, review, conferences, deposition testimony and trial services will be compensated at an agreed upon rate or at the rate set by the Administrative Law Judge after a hearing on the reasonableness of fees. Your deposition testimony, unless offered in lieu of live testimony by the Department, would typically be paid by the opposing counsel at your requested fee. Additionally, the Department reimburses travel expenses in accordance with Chapter 112, Florida Statutes.
If you are interested in becoming an expert witness for the Department and your board, please provide the information requested below.